The Sweetest Gift

What is sweeter than a favorite cake baked just for you on your birthday?

uber_tool_bottom.jpguber_tool.jpg

The answer is a custom needle felting tool made by your children and husband. I call the big one the über-tool. This baby wields ten dangerous needles. The inattentive artist will quickly draw blood. Trust me on this. I would recommend raptor handling gloves, or a really large pad.

uber_tool_mini_bottom.jpguber_tool_mini.jpg

The mini über-tool has four needles. Unfortunately, the knob obscures Sophie’s artistry. I can just picture her brow furrowed in concentration, trying to make sure the edges of the stars and fish stayed neat. Lance stood on the sidelines directing, while Owen operated the drill press.

If you are interested in making your own, they bought the pieces at a national mega-craft mart chain store (I hope it wasn’t the one where my son relieved himself in the outdoor stairwell because they refused to let him use the employee restroom).

If you’ve never seen needle felting in action, watch this step by step flickr collection: fiber to finger puppet. I can’t wait to try this with some of my single needles. The biggest problem with the über-tool is that I have to wait my turn to use it; my children love to needle as much as I do. We’ll have to make them their own set.

6 Responses to “The Sweetest Gift”


  1. 1 Sarah Thursday, September 20, 2007 at 2:57 am

    Happy Birthday! I have never used one of those scary looking tools! Then again, most of needlefelting is 3D, so I’m not sure it would work? My children like to needlefelt as much as I do too, if not more!

    Sarah

  2. 2 carri Thursday, September 20, 2007 at 3:46 am

    What a great gift. You can definitely see the love put into it. I have been wanting to try needle felting for a while now. I’m thinking of getting the kids and myself a kit during the holidays. I think we would all have so much fun with it. Happy Birthday!

  3. 3 ellen kelley Thursday, September 20, 2007 at 8:05 am

    Oh, Happy Birthday! What a wonderful gift. Perhaps you’ll have to use the kitchen timer and a chart…ding-ding, your time’s up, I get it for 15 minutes. What fun.

  4. 4 marti Thursday, September 20, 2007 at 9:20 am

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! I hope that the coming year is full of wonderful crafty days and the sweetest inspiration.

  5. 5 kristin Sunday, October 21, 2007 at 8:35 am

    ah…yes, happy belated birthday. i’m afraid i just peed my pants a little reading that your son had to pee in the stairwell…although i’m sure it wasn’t funny for any of you at the time. that is a great and thoughtful gift! i went the lazy route and just bought my multi needle.


  1. 1 Studio Tour « HomeWork Trackback on Tuesday, March 25, 2008 at 2:47 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Medusozoa

Medusozoa

Medusozoa

More Photos

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 46 other followers

