Tactile Felt Spindle Case

Maia of Tactile Fibers presented me with a challenge a few months ago: make a felt case for a drop-spindle using their naturally dyed blue-faced leicester roving. Always game for a challenge, I agreed. She suggested I model it after the case made in this Splindicity needlepunch tutorial.

spindle_seaweed

The first case was a little wide, but appeared to be the correct length (10″ x 6 1/2″). The color looks very blue, but is actually very kelp, also the name of the colorway.

spindle_apricot

The second case looks to be the correct width, but a little long (14″ x 5″). This was made primarily in the tangerine colorway.

I’m off to work up a few more pieces of flat felt. Lessons to be learned from this project will include the value of consistency and careful documentation. While it is nice to make many one-of-a-kind scarves, the rigors of production felting will force me to grow in a more controlled fashion.

6 Responses to “Tactile Felt Spindle Case”


  1. 1 Loren Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    Would be very cool if the case had sometype of belt loop so you could attach to yourself and keep the roving nearby. Then you could move around while spindling – sort of like those yarn bracelets so you can knit and walk but better because I never stand up when I am knitting, but always when I am drop spindling.

    • 2 Loren Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 2:52 pm

      That being said, both are beautiful and I can imagine my spindle living very happily on a case such as those, esp. the orange one.

  2. 3 Kendall Micayla Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 2:57 pm

    Cool shape! I love the blue one. :)

  3. 4 kneek Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Thanks for the tip Loren. The handle is a great idea. I’ll work it into the next prototype.

  4. 5 carrie Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Those are great! Will you be selling them even though they’re prototypes? I kind of like the idea of extra space, maybe length might be better, to store the extra roving.

  5. 6 kneek Tuesday, April 28, 2009 at 10:54 pm

    Everything is for sale, all the time.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Likke felt collar

Gunnel Felt Collar

Gunnel Felt Collar

More Photos

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

