Bless This Home

A customer admired my felt flowers during the most recent artwalk. He picked up a brilliant yellow flower with a purple center attached to a headband. “Can you make this in reverse?” He was inspired to present his sister with a purple lotus as a housewarming gift. “Anything is possible,” I told him happily.

Aiming to please, I created two flowers so he could select his favorite. When he came to pick up the finished flower on Sunday, I asked him to tell me more about his sister. When she returned to the US after spending a few years working in southern India, she began a tradition of painting or making a purple lotus blossom for loved ones when they moved to a new home. According to local tradition in her community, the flower represented the cleansing of a space, offering the dwelling new breath. Finally, it was his turn to offer something for her new home.

As the school year draws to a close, I am wrapping up operations in my Etsy shop and studio. My trusty sidekick will package any kit sales that happen while I’m away. The rest of my inventory will be offline until I return. While I will have some access to email, it is nice to spend the evening in bed with a book instead of waiting for the churning of a slow connection as it trolls for a satellite signal. It may be wishful thinking, but I’m packing six books for the four weeks I’ll be away in New Hampshire. I look forward to making a valiant dent in the pile.

4 Responses to “Bless This Home”


  1. 1 JenMun(a) Tuesday, June 21, 2011 at 1:08 am

    incredibly beautiful!..these are two colors I really love..but never saw them harmonizing like this.

    JenMun(a)

  2. 2 Colette Tuesday, June 21, 2011 at 9:32 am

    Your flower is really lovely (I think I would have chosen both!!)

    I don’t know if you would mind (or be able) to give me any tips of creating a flower, I want to make my Mum a flower for her Birthday. I lay the fleece out but never seem to be able to make it into a flower with petals or should I make a bit of pre-felt, cut a rough flower shape out then continue to felt? I have tried youtube, asking fellow blogger (been told to buy a kit!!) I have plenty of fleece but just completely stuck!

    Here hoping. (shame your not in the UK)

    Colette


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

spiderfelt_brooches-17

spiderfelt_brooches-16

spiderfelt_brooches-15

More Photos

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

