Shades of Green

One of the experiments I tried at Whidbey was using a loosely woven apple green cotton scarf I found as at a thrift store as the base for a nunofelted piece. I paired it with merino roving handpainted in shades of moss, grass and pea green by Faun at Handsandotions.

bea

The scarf started out 60″ long, not nearly long enough to make a long nunofelted scarf. It was wide enough to split vertically, then lay out end to end. I put down some pieces to span a deliberate gap in the middle, making the piecework a design feature.

bea5

bea2

bea3

bea4

Note: I found this unpublished post in my draft folder. At this point, I’m not sure why I didn’t publish it. This is one of my favorite scarves, one of just a few I decided to keep for myself.

2 Responses to “Shades of Green”


  1. 1 Julie Wednesday, June 22, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Wow, gorgeous! The textures are awesome!

  2. 2 filzquadrat Thursday, June 23, 2011 at 1:29 pm

    the green of the peas… is may favourite green. and i like the idea of put the two parts of the scarf together… really great!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

spiderfelt_brooches-17

spiderfelt_brooches-16

spiderfelt_brooches-15

More Photos

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

