Sea Silk

After months and months of knitting my sea silk scarf, a couple of rows at a time, it is finally complete, and every bit as delightful as I had hoped.

seasilk_flames.jpg

Despite spending many months kicking living in my little felted bag, and only seeing fresh air inside a sweaty dojo, the scarf continues to offer a soothing, delicious aroma. While I wouldn’t exactly say this yarn smells like the ocean, it reminds me of ocean-scented candles I have owned in the past.

Pattern: Candle Flame motif from Barbara Walker’s A First Treasury of Knitting Patterns
Yarn: Fleece Artist SeaSilk
Needles: US 2 Crystal Palace bamboo circular

I’ m so enraptured with the seasilk, that I immediately cast on for a petit clapotis.

seasilk_clapotis.jpg

Any suggestions for avoiding the little bump on the selvedge created by kfb and pfb? What is the point of slipping the first stitch if increasing a stitch on each edge is going to result in that little bump? Since my candle flames scarf has a nice trim selvedge edge, it kills me to leave those bumps on this project.

1 Response to “Sea Silk”


  1. 1 rebecca77 Thursday, January 25, 2007 at 1:21 am

    Isn’t it amazing how slowly you can work on a project and then suddenly it’s done. Sea Silk is just georgeous!! Well done!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


