Muse

Last week, a friend was sitting on the floor behind me during our sons’ aikido class.

“You have a hole in your sweater,” she commented.  “You better fix that.”

“Why?” her three year old daughter asked.

“So it doesn’t get bigger,” she answered.

 “Oh. She got another one on her arm. Better fix that, ” Rosie offered in her most helpful voice.

“Thanks, Rosie. I will fix it right away,” I replied.

“Why?” she asked in the way that only a three year old can ask the same question again and again.

Despite a severe drought last summer when our house-sitter forgot to water the planters, and persistent frosty nights through December and January, the first signs of spring are poking out of my baskets.

fennel.jpg

Bronze fennel. Tiny fennel, so delicate, so sweet.

fennel_illustration.jpg

I drew this illustration after discovering Tricia Guild through Kristin Nicholas. I checked out all the Tricia Guild titles from our local library, including a very 80’s book on flower arranging. The spreads were a bit Victorian for my taste, but the illustrated reference of cut flowers in the appendix was fantastic. I was inspired to draw this flower, which reminded me of fennel gone to seed.

fennel_toothpaste.jpg

Noticing the illustration on my toothpaste put me over the edge.

fennel_embroidery.jpg

I can’t wait to show Rosie.

3 Responses to “Muse”


  1. 1 Blair Tuesday, February 13, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    leah, you need more holey sweaters, this is such an ingenious repair! I love it.

  2. 2 kristin Wednesday, May 2, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    this is great! i love the shot of the toothpaste…proof that inspiration is found in everything 🙂

  3. 3 maggie Monday, February 18, 2008 at 7:31 am

    beautiful illustration and great way to mend a sweater. we must be kindred spirits.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


