Feral Math

Does anyone else see the error in my calculations?

raven_hat_blue.jpg

Janine Bajus instructed all of her students in her Introduction to Fair Isle Colorwork class at Madrona to take home 2 oz of Shetland yarn; since she calculated her hat pattern would take about 1 1/2 oz of yarn, we had more than enough allowance to finish the hat.

Clearly, what I failed to recognize was that colors used once in a repeat don’t require as much yarn as colors used for ten rows. Oh, if only I could wind those little balls again. Why did I take so much green, orange and red?

Now that I have run out of navy, Lance thinks I should just create a ribbing with either green or orange and call it good, rather than finishing the hat. I’ve been wearing this headband just about every day to tame my overgrown fuzz-head; it would be nice to have another, but I can’t bring myself to break the fair isle symmetry. Any suggestions?

sophie_knits.jpg

This was a sight that made my heart go pitter-patter this evening: Sophie knitting in my chair while I was cooking dinner. She pulled out “her” knitting on her own and just sat down to work on a swatch she started several months ago. Who knows how or where inspiration will strike. When Lance arrived at home, he asked her what she was working on. “Something slippery with slippery needles,” she scoffed. Clearly, my six year old daughter has already learned to appreciate the handle of different yarns on various needles. Be still my heart.

2 Responses to “Feral Math”


  1. 1 Janine Tuesday, February 13, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    This was my way of FORCING you all to be really really feral! There was no way to tell people how much of each color was needed, because everyone chose a different way of filling in the pattern.

    So, for you, I suggest that you now start shifting your colors radically as you do the decreases. Looks like the rust and orange are dark enough to serve as the pattern and you can shift the other colors as background. You might find that you like this better than your planned colors, who knows?

    Or you can contact me to get a little more of the colors you’re lacking….

  2. 2 Denise Thursday, February 15, 2007 at 2:57 am

    I really like the way your colorway turned out!
    Denise (from the Madrona class)


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


