A Fulfilled Teapot

fair-isle_teapot.jpg

The conclusion to the Fair Isle saga: full the knitting and turn the piece on its head. Since I don’t wear hats very often, this bit of knitting will be better appreciated as a teapot cozy, as I pour my third and fourth cup of tea, still warm thanks to the lovely cozy.

Anyone interested in the technical difference between fulling and felting can get the full dish at nonaKnits. Basically, fulling is shrinking knit or woven fabric, while felting starts with abusing simple roving.

4 Responses to “A Fulfilled Teapot”


  1. 1 marti Wednesday, February 14, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    that turned out lovely. i love your heart card too.

  2. 2 Kristi Wednesday, February 14, 2007 at 8:34 pm

    Leah,

    Looks great! I still haven’t had time to really even start mine, so I have no idea if I made a “feral math” error yet or not! This is an excellent solution to your problem – just think how much more you’ll be able to enjoy this than you would a hat that you wear only seasonally, if at all!

  3. 3 Kristin Thursday, February 15, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Fabulous idea!!! I have been needing a teapot cozy lately — I’m tired of cold tea! Maybe that will be my next project…

  4. 4 Kirstin Friday, December 26, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Hi there,

    Love that this turned into a tea cozy! Where is the chart from? My sister wants a sweater with a band of fair isle across the chest and this would be perfect. I love that it’s snowflakes in a subtle way.

    Love your blog.

    Thanks!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


