Creating Balance

I’ve been thinking for a while that this blog is about so much more than knitting. It is really about the urge to create and to be productive at the same time.

flower_pindetail.jpg

I have to balance this imperative with my responsibilities in our home, but the fact remains that if I don’t find an outlet for my crafty impulses, I am a very grouchy mother.

When I reflect on my youth, I realize that I spent far too much time trying to enjoy what my boyfriend or girlfriends were doing instead of creating for myself. Finally, I can stand on my own and say “I want to make something”.

felt_leaf.jpg

This is why I have a clothesline of roving hanging across my dining room, and the plate rail is filled with felted treasure boxes, nested origami sets Lance made at Christmas, some unfinished felt slippers, Sophie’s duvet waiting to be sewn and a piece of felt art without a home. This is also why there is so much dog hair in the bathroom and the door frames are full of dirty fingerprints.

So, I’ve changed the name and description of this journal to more accurately reflect what I write. This isn’t about who or what inspires me, it is really about what we create in our home.

2 Responses to “Creating Balance”


  1. 1 Blair Tuesday, February 27, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    I love your thoughts on what you’re evolving your blog into. It feels so great to have a little space to call your own, doesn’t it? And I bet your dining room looks sweet with all the roving hanging across it, I love the leaf piece!

    You could most definitely make that pillow I made for Emma by the way. We’ll talk more.

  2. 2 Denise Wednesday, February 28, 2007 at 2:01 pm

    I like the new blog name!

    I really enjoy your felt pieces. How did you make the piece with the leaves? Is it needle felted?

    Your children will not remember how clean the house was or wasn’t when they are grown. They will remember what a creative fun place it was and how their mother encouraged them to express themselves through creative work.

    My children are grown now and I regret all the time and effort I put into keeping the house clean when they were small. Trust me, out of all their memories of growing up they never have come to me to say “Remember that time when you got the house *real* clean? That was a sure great day!”


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


