Sewing Week

The knitting and felting is really taking a hit this week; I’ve given myself over completely to my sewing machine. Besides picking up the clothes at Goodwill on Monday, I also bought a pile of towels

towels.jpg

to make

puppy_mitt.jpg

a puppy mitt for Zeke when he comes in with muddy paws and a wet underside; short dogs get wet even when it isn’t raining. I was inspired by a similar mitt at Wendy’s house last Saturday and just had to make one for myself. The supersize bath towels will give me enough fabric to make several to leave by each of our three doors.

lunchbag_side.jpglunchbag_front.jpg

Making lunch for Owen on Tuesday morning, I was motivated to replace the sticky plastic lunch bag he uses every week for preschool. My first prototype used leftover fabric from a pair of shorts Sophie made for herself last year. The next version will be a little wider to better hold the plastic containers I use for most lunches, and will feature some sort of closure.

Julieree also made some linen lunch bags this week, much cuter than mine. I’m asking for a little kindness in your judgments because I have no fabric stash, so there were no cute coordinating fabrics for trim or pockets. This love affair with sewing is still new; I need to work up to building the sort of fabric stash I’ve admired on flickr.

sophie_quilt.jpg

Last night I spent two hours working on the wide strips for Sophie’s quilt. I only have one more 20″ band to make and then I’m ready to sew front to back. The chenille frogs are recycled from an old shower curtain we had when Sophie was a baby. Much to Lance’s dismay, Sophie likes the wrong side more than the fuzzy chenille, so we compromised with two facing in and two facing out.

orange_cablehat.jpg

And one small knitting project cast-on this week: Anne of Green Cables Hat. Janine is having a Dulaan party and I can’t go empty handed. Owen thinks this hat is staying home for him because he can’t let go of anything orange; we may have to negotiate a trade.

1 Response to “Sewing Week”


  1. 1 Lynn in Tucson Tuesday, March 27, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    I’ve been thinking about a fabric lunch bag as well…maybe with quilted fabric to keep items cooler? I especially want something that I can toss in the washing machine. That “lunch box smell” can be so gross!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


