Studio Space

Returning from my weekend sewing trip, I was struck by the desire to sew more, but first to organize. This cupboard has been sitting in our storage room since we moved into this house two and half years ago; it was left by the previous owners and we weren’t sure where to put it, so left it where we found it.

Now it sits in the multipurpose room just inside our back door: cloakroom, laundry, office and sewing room. I should say it sits in our studio; a piece of furniture dedicated to storing my fabric, notions and tools makes this space a studio.

fabric_cupboard.jpg

The neat piles of multicolored fabric just tickle me; I feel giddy just seeing them as I enter the room. When I sit at my desk, I can see the colors in my peripheral vision, as the cupboard is right next to my desk.

fabric.jpg

Arranging the cabinet on an afternoon where Owen was at school and the sun was streaming in the south-facing windows inspired me to set up my space in a deliberate manner that I don’t normally apply to such tasks. Unlike Blair, the kitchen window sill above my sink is filled with the flotsam and jetsam of our lives, more of an altar to the shipwreck of our house than to anything I wish to admire.

Other bits of loveliness around my studio:

ribbon_cork.jpg

A bit of trim wrapped around a cork saved from a memorable evening;

needle_ball.jpg

a needle ball found in the bottom of a box, my first needle felted creation; 

basket_ofballs.jpg

a basket of miniature felt balls, created three years ago for tiny Christmas ornaments, my first foray into felt;

bendy_flower.jpg

a three dimensional felt flower needle felted to a flexible stem embedded with floral wire; a tiny ladybug embroidery in the background from Alana.

2 Responses to “Studio Space”


  1. 1 marti Thursday, April 5, 2007 at 9:15 am

    i have some mohair fiber that I am not going to spin. Can it find a good home with you?

  2. 2 Fibrespace Thursday, April 5, 2007 at 10:33 am

    What a beautiful cabinet, your fabric looks great in it. Can’t wait to have a studio myself!!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


