Spring Eggs

Though I’m generally not much of a traditionalist, I can’t resist caving to the pressure exerted by my offspring to create typical holiday crafts. Since my niece, Athena and nephew, Christopher were going to be with us for the weekend, I decided it would be fun to boil two dozen eggs and pull out the food coloring. My one concession to make this a learning experience was to buy a lump of beeswax, four stylus and download some pysanky patterns.

easter_egg_athenadraws.jpg

Since I quickly realized that using the stylus to draw wax lines on the eggs was not really child’s play, and discouraged with the ugly mess I was making, I suggested the kids start with crayons while I attempted to perfect my technique.

easter_egg_chrisdraws.jpg

Athena and Christopher worked diligently to replicate the designs I printed as inspiration for them,

easter_egg_swab.jpg

while Owen innovated his own painting technique using a cotton swab,

easter_egg_sophie.jpg

and Sophie just started dunking.

egg_athena_front.jpgegg_athena.jpg

Athen’s final design,

egg_christopher.jpgegg_leah.jpg

Christopher’s final design, and my blobby mess.

egg_tree.jpg

Happy Spring!

2 Responses to “Spring Eggs”


  1. 1 Larissa Wednesday, April 11, 2007 at 11:07 am

    I tried the ukranian wax egg painting once too a couple years ago (inspired by some beautiful pictures I’ve seen) and was also struck by how difficult it is not to make a blobby mess! The friends I was having an easter egg party with didn’t even try the wax painting after they saw the ugliness I was making 🙂

  2. 2 erika Thursday, April 12, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Boy, this is silly, but how do you use food coloring instead of those silly packaged tablets that Paz sells? Do you just use regular food coloring? Vinegar added?

    Anna is thrilled with peeling and eating colored hard-boiled eggs, so I’d like to do more! It’s a great healthy snack…except my mom thought she needed to learn to dip each bite in salt – luckily Anna forgot about that the next day!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


