Super Grandma

I’m not sure who needed the boost more today – me or my kids – but there is no disputing that at 3:30, we were all dragging our heels acting like all the joy was gone from the world.

Suddenly, I remembered my mother said she was going to leave two gift bags on the front porch for Sophie and Owen’s birthdays; she suggested I might want to keep them hidden away until May 5th. I decided the gifts would bring us more joy right now.

capes.jpg

When I was leaving for Vancouver to sew my cape, Sophie and Owen lobbied for their own capes, but something closer to a superhero version than mine. My mother got to work on a something that would reflect their distinct personalities.

superowen_sm.jpgfish_cape.jpg

On two separate trips to the fabric store, Owen picked out a cotton covered in football players in action. My mother and I both had this in our stash, so she made him a reversible cape with football on one side, and fish on the other. He also got a pair of shorts out of the deal. I’m not sure he will ever take these off.

supersophie_sm.jpgtwirl_sm.jpg

Sophie loves bright colors, lots of patterns and she loves to feel her skirts twirl. My mother found some batik cotton to make a skirt, and pieced together several different cottons to make her reversible cape. She already owns several summer outfits in these fabrics, so it was a sure bet that she would like these choices for her cape.

superchildren.jpg

Don’t you just get happy looking at them? Thanks for making our day Grandma. You are the best!

1 Response to “Super Grandma”


  1. 1 Blair Saturday, April 21, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    I really hope I’m exactly that kind of grandma. look at those smiles!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


