Fields of Tulips

On their way home from Seattle, my parents stopped in LaConner, Washington for the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival. This part of the Skagit Valley was settled by several Dutch farmers who brought their knowledge of flowers and bulbs to the region. You can see more pictures of tulip fields in their Flickr album.

laconner.jpg

This picture captured my imagination when I saw it yesterday. The composition and colors are perfect. I went to bed dreaming of turning this picture into something.

tulip_fields_pre.jpg

A piece of felt is laid out. I created the background out of some Jacob roving, layered with some blue merino roving. After felting the background just long enough to hold it together, I added the details: bands of red and green for the tulip fields, some wisps of white in the sky, pieces of green prefelt cut out to look like poplars and maroon pencil roving for the trunk.

tulip_fields.jpg

Lacking the colors I needed, I tried to capture the symmetry of the original photo.

2 Responses to “Fields of Tulips”


  1. 2 kristin Wednesday, May 2, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    i had to come over from FLICKR to see some more of what’s going on here…this is SUCH a fabulous piece!! LOVE seeing the photograph next to your felt work. THANK YOU for this huge inspiration for today 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


