Felt So Big

On Saturday, I attempted something big, a piece so big that it just covers my piano bench.  

piano_bench.jpg

It was so big, I didn’t have enough bubble wrap to roll it up for fulling. Something this large called for a technique I’d read about in books on felting from the ’70s, where groups of people felted rugs for three days. I wrapped the felt in a patchwork of bubble wrap, and then I rolled it in two separate towels, binding a very heavy bundle with kitchen twine. It was too heavy to full by hand, so I carried the package downstairs, plopped it on the floor underneath my desk and rolled it back and forth with my feet while I read blogs for half an hour.

The end result was the firmest piece of felt I’ve made to date. While this method gave my hips a workout, I was able to full for much longer than doing it by hand simply because my mind was distracted, so I wasn’t constantly unwrapping it because I was bored.

mohair_felt.jpg

The other side of is embellished with multicolored locks. Not being a spinner, I’m not sure of the correct terminology for wool in this state, but it looks like it hasn’t been fully combed or teased. Honestly, it reminds me of my own hair. This bag of roving was a gift from Marti who said spinning it was driving her crazy. Thanks Marti! I promise to put the rest of it to good use.

If you are interested in seeing a little bonus footage, check out Festive Fibers, then click on “How We Make A Festive Fibers Rug” in their side menu. Besides a glass blower, I can’t imagine anyone with stronger biceps than this pair.

6 Responses to “Felt So Big”


  1. 1 marti Thursday, May 3, 2007 at 7:14 am

    I am glad that the fiber found it’s perfect space! It is exciting to see what you created with it.

  2. 2 kristin Thursday, May 3, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    this is thrilling!! not only a gorgeous piece of felt, but you’ve found a way to craft while getting exercise.

  3. 3 jackie Friday, May 4, 2007 at 3:49 am

    Hi! I came Via Maia Spins. We used a bamboo blind for fulling. The one with the small round slats. It works great! They come in all sorts of sized and can be found at yard sales or thrift stores from time to time. I like the idea of rolling it with your feet! What a great work out!

  4. 4 Regina Monday, May 7, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    Beautiful birthing and birthday stories! These are the things I think children will remember most when they get older- feeling like kings and queens, expecially on very special days. All of your crowns are beautiful!

  5. 5 Regina Monday, May 7, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    Oops! Made that comment on the wrong post 🙂


  1. 1 Nuno Felting « HomeWork Trackback on Friday, May 11, 2007 at 10:09 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


