Inventing Boxes

Preparing for birthdays is often a difficult task for parents. We know our children best, we know just how much they already have, we know just how much more they want, and we also want to support their growth. With all of this in mind, I decided to meet my needs and theirs by buying them the tools to grow their imagination, and keep the supplies consolidated in an easy to access space (thanks to Sara for the inspiration). 

I had to include a nod to my own humanity and fallibility with a book we discovered recently thanks to Erika: My Mama Says There Aren’t Any Zombies, Ghosts Vampires, Creatures, Demons, Monsters, Fiends, Goblins, or Things by Judith Viorst, as well as book of Mother Goose whimsically illustrated by Brian Wildsmith.

 inventing_box1.jpg

inventing_box2.jpg

inventing_box3.jpg

inventing_box4.jpg

files.jpg

furoshiki.jpg

Happy Birthday Kids!

homework.jpghomework2.jpg

I hope it is always so easy to get them to do their homework! While they were sitting with their new workbooks, we were rushing around getting ready for a bowling party. They barely lifted their heads to notice what we were doing.

2 Responses to “Inventing Boxes”


  1. 1 Amber Thursday, May 31, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    Awesome. I remember how much fun it was to have crazy stuff like that in a special box to play with and I think you’ve got an excellent collection going there.
    And a bowling party? Way Too Cool.
    I came over here from Wise Craft and am now off to cruise the rest of your site, because this stuff is looking great!

  2. 2 Cheryl Friday, June 1, 2007 at 5:58 am

    Wow, I love the inventing boxes! What a fantastic gift idea! I usually try to make part of a gift or do something unique so this adds a great option in my repertoire.

    Found you from Wise Craft. Would like to link to your inventing boxes if you don’t mind.

    Cheers,
    Cheryl
    http://www.stashstudios.com


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


