Inspiring Mothers

A friend called me on Monday morning to wish me a belated Happy Mother’s Day. She, too, is a mother, so I was a little surprised to receive her call, and her apology for getting to me so late. She has established a tradition since becoming a mother three years ago, of honoring mothers who inspire her on Mother’s Day. What a wonderful idea. I was touched to be included in her circle, and immediately started thinking of the women who would be on my list.

In no particular order, these women are all part of the Attachment Parenting community in Seattle:

fritilaria.jpgErika Jennings – for pursuing a path to peace, for envisioning a different way to communicate with our children, using the big-hearted language of Compassionate Communication. Thank you for making this your life work and sharing it with me.*

Sara Cole – for leading and guiding our community, for your friendship and support, for being the bridge that enables our community to be.

Tera Schreiber – for the gift of wisdom and the ability to express it so well. Thank you for bringing all of the hard work of parenting into perspective, and encouraging us to discuss it.

Jen Witsoe – for vision and leadership; with your ambition and drive, we will create a better place for families to grow together.**

Kristin and Heidi – for reminding me how precious and joyful the small moments can be with a wee one. Your faithfulness has given me a reason to continue carving out time in the week for my nourishment.

Erika Carlson – for leading a life that treads lightly on the earth, and for working to better your relationships rather than turn away from strife and difficulty.

*Erika is a peer educator working with the “Peaceful Families, Peaceful World Project“; she moderates a bi-weekly practice group that meets on the first and third Sunday of the month at the Greenwood Neighborhood Service Center.

**Jen is spearheading the research around forming a new co-housing community, gathered around a love of family and diversity, living in affordable housing in an urban setting. A general information meeting for anyone interested in exploring this idea is being held at the Douglass-Truth Library on Sunday, June 3rd, between 3-5pm.

4 Responses to “Inspiring Mothers”


  1. 1 Jen Witsoe Thursday, May 17, 2007 at 9:36 am

    And thank you for your kind words and for the moments you spend with my sons on your front lawn, telling them about ants and plants and writing all our names in chalk, even though it feels dusty on your fingers. You are a treasured part of my community.

  2. 2 Kristin Sunday, May 20, 2007 at 6:45 pm

    Thank you for the mention, Leah! I am so happy to be able to spend time with you each week, and enjoy the inspiration, commiseration, & fun each week (even if I don’t get much knitting in!).

  3. 3 Tera Friday, June 1, 2007 at 4:41 pm

    I am just catching up on reading your blog and have to say a thousand thanks for including me in your list of thanks. I am honored. In reality, you are a huge inspiration to me in my parenting. You are so graceful and gentle with your kids. Plus, look at all the cool crafting you do! I love to live vicariously through your projects. Someday I will ask for some lessons.

  4. 4 erika Friday, August 3, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    i just read this and am impressed that someone appreciates my “not turning away from strife and difficulty.” My DH would call it agonizing over interpersonal relationships, but hey, one man’s trash is another’s treasure!

    Thanks!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


