Recycled Sweater Cases

A few weeks ago, friends alerted me to a clothing swap at a West Seattle co-housing community. My mind immediately started thinking about picking up sweaters for recycling. I brought home four, but decided one was too good to recycle.

glasses_case.jpg

These small pouches were made from the sleeves of two different sweaters, both partially fulled by their previous owners.

camera_in.jpgcamera_out.jpg

We’ve needed a new case for our teeny camera for several months. Ironically, the old one turned up at my son’s preschool the day after I finished sewing this together. The circles are cut from a sushi-felted tube I made around Valentines for class cards. I sliced of a bit and needle felted them to the wool before sewing it together.

bachelor_out.jpgbachelor_in.jpg

As this scene came together, I imagined a garden full of bachelor buttons. This is more of Marti’s roving, with more left for additional projects.

Flickr Photos

Categories


