Projectus Interruptus

I’m suffering from a bad case of crafter’s block, or perhaps it is aesthetic intimidation caused by reading too many blogs. Each of these projects was started with a burst of enthusiasm, but for various reasons, I had to stop before I was done and now I can’t decide how to “finish” them.

dishrag_apron.jpgdishrag_apron2.jpg

This apron is made from a dishtowel and some grosgrain ribbon thrifted on Mother’s Day weekend. My original intention was to add a pocket just like this, à la Lotta Jansdotter‘s Café Apron, or perhaps a patch pocket with a freezer paper stencil applique, but I just can’t picture the right “thing”. Where has my muse gone?

scissor_hanger.jpg

The inspiration for this little scissor hanger hit on Mother’s Day as well, but the ribbons aren’t exactly right, there isn’t enough room to include my rotary cutter, and the whole thing needs some interfacing or Timtex to make more rigid. Perhaps a more densely fulled piece of felt would be a better choice because the pinking shears make the bottom skew away from the top. This project is screaming do-over, but now that the bug to make it has evaporated, I’m lacking in motivation.

blue_bell_sweater_right.jpgblue_bell_sweater_left.jpg

This lambswool and angora sweater was acquired at the clothing swap in West Seattle, but I couldn’t bear to rip it apart because it is so warm and fuzzy. Small tears at the neck in the shoulder seams needed to be repaired this week, so I embroidered a vine across the neck and down each shoulder, but this isn’t done either. More or less?

1 Response to “Projectus Interruptus”


  1. 1 Cheryl Friday, June 1, 2007 at 6:04 am

    Hey, I think we all have our projects we just can’t get over the hill. Sometimes I put the thing I want to finish in my head just as I go to sleep then sometimes, as if my subconscious is working the night, I’ll have a great inspiration to finish in the morning.
    Good luck!
    http://www.stashstudios.com


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


