Centaurea Montana

My favorite flower is Centaurea Montana, common name Mountain Bluet. When I first started gardening, we had a raised bed filled with it in our back yard.

centaurea_interlake.jpg

Unfortunately, this sweet flower is prone to farmer ants tending flocks of aphids. Very ugly.

centaurea_side.jpgcentaurea_front.jpg

There is something about the delicate petals and the color combination that enchants me.

centaurea_front11.jpg

Creating a 2D representation was a little harder than I imagined. Getting the depth of color was really hard, and I couldn’t get the perspective right.

centaurea_vase_sm.jpg

Several more layers of color brought me to this version, which still isn’t right.

centaurea.jpg

A nursery catalogue arrived in the mail this week featuring my subject on the cover. I decided to try a different version of the flower.

centaurea_new_sm.jpg

This looks more like Eeyore’s thistle than my beloved centaurea montana, but it is time to move on to another project.

3 Responses to “Centaurea Montana”


  1. 1 kristin Sunday, June 3, 2007 at 10:12 pm

    WOW!!! they all look “right” to me!!! beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. and what a lovely family photo 🙂

  2. 2 marti Thursday, June 7, 2007 at 7:00 am

    that is one of my favorite flowers as well. i can’t wait to see a moo card in person, it is on my list of things to do as well.

  3. 3 alyse Tuesday, June 1, 2010 at 12:18 am

    Wow, you blogged this a long time ago, but I had to say how much I like this post. I’ve never seen anyone attempt Centaurea montana before. This is LOVELY! You have done a great job.

    Also, you had me at hello when you said Mountain Bluet is your favorite flower. So unusual, so sweet.

    Alyse


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


