Moo Holder

I have Moo MiniCards! What perfect little treasures! I love having my only little trading cards. Don’t worry if you haven’t heard of Moo; the phenomenon was only brought to my attention recently, but boy do a lot of other people know about them, beg and trade them.

They are about half the size of a standard business card, but printed on heavy gauge cardstock in vibrant color, with 6 custom text fields printed on the back. You can select up to 100 different images, so unlike business cards, you can share many pieces of work with anyone who asks. The hard part is deciding which images look best because the selection window is just a slice of your original, forcing some tight choices due to unusually tight cropping.

When I sent the rosebud pins to Sarah and Loren, I wanted something a little more personal than a tiny ziploc bag, so I whipped up two rectangles of recycled felt. Sewing across the knit ribbing was impossible (though I’ve since learned about three new stitches on my machine that should make future projects easier – thanks Cheryl!), so I hand stitched the bottom, creating a tiny little postcard and pin holder.

Last night we watched The Science of Sleep (4 stars – 5 for originality – love Michel Gondry) while I played with some bits of felt scraps I was using to stuff this pillow. By the time I finished the blanket stitch around the perimeter I was sitting in a pile of wool, thread and dryer lint. I made the first of these little pockets, and then spent the first hour I was in bed thinking of variations.

The other three were stitched together this afternoon. I’m leaning towards number 1. What do you think?

1 Response to “Moo Holder”


  1. 1 kneek Sunday, June 10, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    I like the one in the initial photo of moo cards. It looks black with clear ribbing. The others all look nice too. Keep the variety.
    Mary Jo


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


