Errant Night

A couple of weeks ago, I started grafting the hood for Rogue, thanks to a lovely set of line by line instructions by PumpkinMama. I’ve grafted my fair share of socks in plain stockinette, but tackling 38 stitches of knits and purls with two cable crosses was too much for me to attack without some guidance.

It all started well enough in the afternoon, but things started to go downhill when I brought my knitting downstairs to watch a movie with my honey.

I spent another two hours grafting, only to notice when I was finished that there was not one, but two critical errors in my work. Determined that this was challenge was not going to defeat me, I tinked the grafting back to the hole, intending to finish it the next day. It languished for twenty days.

Last night, I read this brilliant post by Janine of Feral Knitters about the beauty of charm spots, also known as mistakes, a sign that the knitting was done by a person. She inspired me to pick up my hood and finish it.

It is amazing how good you can get at grafting knits and purls when you spend five hours practicing. I hope I never have to graft cables again, but should the challenge present itself, I’ll know what to do.

Naomi will probably be too humble to trumpet this, but I feel the need to broadcast to everyone that she was knitting Ruth’s Kauni Cardigan before the Yarn Harlot.

3 Responses to “Errant Night”


  1. 1 jess Saturday, June 9, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    hooray! congrats on finishing up the hood graft! I also liked Janine’s post. 🙂

  2. 2 lance Tuesday, June 12, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    You don’t think that having a cookie before knitting had anything to do with the “charm spots”? Hmmm……

  3. 3 Larissa Friday, June 15, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    How on-topic for me- I just found a dropped stitch from my rogue grafting last night too (after wearing it for about 2 years). There’s no way I’m ripping that out!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


