Petal Trees

I will always credit Emily Archer of Milkweed Arts  for inspiring my love of felt, and taking it from a mere appreciation to a desire to create. Lance and I bought these two pieces from Emily at a Christmas craft fair in Peterborough, NH in 2003. They hung in our living room while we lived in New Hampshire, and now they hang on either side of my attic bedroom window. I never tire of looking at the leaves, made from leaf impressions on handpainted silk, held in place by tiny beads along the center veins.

emily_tree_sm.jpgemilys_tree2_sm2.jpg

Drawing further inspiration from Feltissimo, I made this card for Lance’s Aunt Sue, who lives in New Hampshire.

petal_card_double_sm.jpg

Leaves were cut out of prefelt and layered onto a piece of wetfelt. The end result was embellished with peridot chips. A piece of card stock was sewn to create the card.

petal_card_mosaic_sm.jpg

There are more pieces in this series on Flickr.

1 Response to “Petal Trees”


  1. 1 Dana Wednesday, June 20, 2007 at 4:06 am

    It looks absolutely lovely. I bought some wool at the MD sheep and wool fest and have yet to play with it much.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


