Knights and Fairies

Lately, I’ve been faced with the dilemma: make stuff or write about the stuff you make. The choice seems pretty simple, but the voices in my head that dictate my blog posts won’t go away. I keep dreaming, writing, editing and framing the blog posts that I’m not writing. To date, I have four finished objects (two of them are knitting objects!) undocumented, three great field trips and a work in progress just sitting in my brain queue waiting to come out.

tooth_fairy_wood.jpg

For Father’s Day, I wanted to take something made by our children and turn it into art. I’m not sure how this came about, but Owen drew a tooth fairy on a piece of wood Lance found for him. It was his very first piece of representational art, a dramatic change in style for him. He was delighted to have it turned into a stencil for Lance, especially because I found a bright orange shirt at Goodwill (Owen eschews any color that isn’t orange).

toothfairy_sn.jpg

Most evenings, when I’m working on the computer, Lance keeps me company by playing multiple chess games online. Sophie learned to play chess at school this year and was an enthusiastic member of their chess club.

black_whiteknight.jpg

 I had plans to make two more shirts for Lance, but ran out of time. They will appear some day.

3 Responses to “Knights and Fairies”


  1. 1 Meg McElwee Wednesday, June 20, 2007 at 3:51 pm

    These are GREAT. I can’t think of a better Father’s Day gift from a young child! I’m definitely going to use your tutorial and give this a try. Also, I’m in love with your candle dripping tutorial. Thanks for adding a bit of fun and inspiration to my world!

  2. 2 Tera Thursday, June 21, 2007 at 4:47 pm

    You are a rock star. I love these shirts, and they would be perfect for my specific combination of prolific little artists (you would enjoy the things that Daisy presents on the reams of paper we go through to create this art) and a hard to find anything he needs husband! I think I will ask you for ideas for Father’s Day next year.

  3. 3 Cheryl Saturday, June 23, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Okay, so I’m just catching up here and I have to say WOW! I love the results from the freezer paper stencils and I can see this will be in our near future. The results totally looked silkscreened!

    I’m just going to comment here that I love those mosaic stones. We’ve always done them from a kit and were never satisfied with the results. Guess you get out of it what you put in to it.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


