Larkspur Wine

These beauties are finally off my needles and on my father’s feet, just in time for Father’s Day. I said these were for Lance all along, but I couldn’t really surprise my dad if I said I was making them for him, now could I?

mountain_socks.jpg

Much like the Yarn Harlot’s traveling socks, these socks have seen lots and lots of miles. I started them in January just before the Madrona Fiber Arts Retreat in Tacoma, and then took them back to the Tacoma the following week for Wintergrass. They went to every parent meeting at my son’s preschool and my daughter’s elementary school, aikido twice a week, book club meetings, knitting group, back and forth to Vancouver to see my parents. They were my go-to project for six months, around and around and around they went. I’m sad to let go of them because they demanded so little of me.

I should admit that in the beginning, these socks were a bit of a challenge because I decided to do a toe-up magic loop construction for the first time (this tutorial from Misocrafty made the cast-on a breeze). Plus there were some winding difficulties that left me with two lopsided balls from a single 4oz hank. Not sure just how much yarn these socks would take, I decided to knit them two at a time. When I arrived at the heel, I took them off the needles and knit them one at a time until I was past both heels.

mountain_socks_cu.jpg

Toe-up sock patterns generally call out a short row heel, but I didn’t think that would create enough room for a man foot, so I trolled around for ideas and didn’t really come up with much. I decided to just try a standard heel, upside down: I put two thirds of the stitches on holders, knit a heel flap for 18 rows, turned the heel, picked up the stitches on the side of the flap and then knit the instep. There is no reinforcing in the heel, but it works. Now that I’ve seen needlefelted heels on socks, I’m not going to worry so much about whether the heels and toes get a little thin with love.

Ironically, I did run out of yarn just past the heel; I broke down and bought a second skein of this yarn. Several people have told me how much they loved this yarn, but it really wasn’t my cup of tea. Perhaps it was the dark colorway, perhaps I just knit it at too tight a gauge, perhaps it was knitting in magic loop, whatever the reason, it seemed this yarn was forever trying to jump right off my needles. Picking up those impossible-to-see, tiny little stitches, that insisted on splitting instead of jumping back on my needles caused no end of muttering under my breath…never again. Anyone interested in swapping 3oz of mohair/wool sock yarn? For that matter, is anyone interested in size 0 needles? They deserve someone with a looser hand than mine.

Pattern: a hybrid; Turkish Cast-on for Two socks Magic Loop from Misocrafty
Yarn: Mountain Colors Bearfoot in color “Larkspur”
Needles: US Size 0, 40″ Addi Turbo

3 Responses to “Larkspur Wine”


  1. 1 jackie Tuesday, June 26, 2007 at 6:27 am

    Ah ha! Another 6 month sock knitter! I thought that I was the only one who didn’t complete a pair of socks in 29 minutes or less.
    They look great, but you can keep the fine yarn and the fine needles. And sneaky you, knitting them for your dad all along! I’ll bet he was pleased.

  2. 2 Perdo44 Tuesday, June 26, 2007 at 12:51 pm

    These socks are gorgeous to touch. They are beautiful to see. Well worth all the anguish to complete.
    Your dad thanks you, and so does your mom.
    Now I REALLY want to know more about that darning trick with felting needles.
    Mary Jo

  3. 3 Maia Monday, July 9, 2007 at 10:24 am

    I love Bearfoot yarn. Sorry to hear that it didn’t float your boat. That is a lovely colorway too.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


