Rogue Ravelry

I have a confession to make: lists make me really, really happy. First it started with flickr, which made me think I should blog. Then I discovered LibraryThing. Now it is Ravelry. There is something about seeing my own stuff (which I can see perfectly well piled up around my feet) listed in a neat and orderly fashion (perhaps because the stuff around my feet isn’t in this state) that makes me feel at peace. It makes me feel so good that when I’m not doing it, or the job isn’t done, I can’t think of anything else, so it leaves me feeling restless, agitated and cranky. Let the girl make her lists!

tada.jpg

I started last week working on adding my projects from flickr while I was at my parents’ house in Vancouver. There were lots of project photos I hadn’t uploaded, pattern details weren’t jumping to mind and I couldn’t remember the names of some of the yarns.

felt_sheep.jpgfelt_alpaca.jpg

On Wednesday morning, I drove back to Seattle, without my children (thanks Mom and Dad!); the rest of the day was spent in holiday fashion with a picnic, bbq and fireworks. Thursday was spent on errands, which included three Goodwill stores and an evening potluck. Friday morning really had to be spent catching up on my webmaster work for Nuestros Pequeños Hermanos (you can only put off paid work for so long). The whole time I was thinking of my incomplete projects in Ravelry.

wristlets.jpg

It isn’t like I don’t have tons of other things to do: fold three bursting hampers of laundry, replenish our empty fridge, play with roving I bought from Arbutus Farms, sew a skirt I plan to wear to a wedding in one week, cast-on for a shawl I want to wear to the same wedding…wait, did you say you need a pattern? Better look it up on Ravelry.

legwarmers.jpg

That was the beginning and the end of today. While I feel sheepish admitting how much time I’ve spent organizing the knitting pictures on our computers, photographing undocumented projects and entering details into the database, the reality is that this makes me happy. If it makes me a geek too, so be it.

rogue_vest_skirt.jpg

There are three more projects to photograph, but I think I’m done for the moment, as is Rogue. Who needs a wool sweater in the summer, but a vest is perfect! The sleeves are in progress, but for now the vest will work just fine. And, yes, I am having a hard time taking off Marianna’s skirt.

3 Responses to “Rogue Ravelry”


  1. 1 Marysusan Monday, July 9, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Thanks alot….I am now going to be addicted to ANOTHER website! Librarything is toooooo much fun! However, If I tried to list all the books in this house it would take me ages…so I am going to only do the ones at hand.

  2. 2 Cheryl Monday, July 9, 2007 at 7:07 pm

    You always know about the coolest new web worlds and thank you for sharing them. I am an admitted bookaholic so I’m not sure if Library Thing is going to enforce a limit but I wouldn’t blame them if they did. As for Ravelry, I think there needs to be a similar thing for sewing. Enjoy your time!

  3. 3 jackie Wednesday, July 11, 2007 at 5:08 am

    Those are just the cutest things!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


