Wear What You Make

I was a walking mannequin yesterday, wearing a complete outfit I made, minus the Chaco sandals.

barcelona_skirt.jpg

The Barcelona Skirt by Amy Butler was my first attempt at solo sewing, essentially a test skirt using leftover fabric from a skirt my mother sewed for Sophie. This is one of three skirts included in this pattern; the other two will have to wait until I return from New Hampshire.

All told, it really wasn’t too bad; I managed to figure out the invisible zipper without ripping out any stitches. Agonizing about which size to cut was the worst part.

My measurements don’t fit neatly into any category, so I had to cut for the largest size and then take in the seams when it was finished. If I wiggle a little, I can make the waist drop down to my hips. 

There is a great pattern review, tips and tutorial at the Sew Mama Sew blog. Don’t forget the Flickr Skirt Group!

5 Responses to “Wear What You Make”


  1. 1 marti Wednesday, July 11, 2007 at 12:17 pm

    It is such a good picture of you! It was good seeing you at knitting last night.

  2. 2 kristin Wednesday, July 11, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    looks great!! and the shirt looks so good with it too.

  3. 3 Marysusan Thursday, July 12, 2007 at 8:56 am

    That skirt looks like the perfect summer “This is casual but not too casual and don’t I look pretty” skirt. Now I want one. I live in skirts all summer, this looks like a great way to use up some bits and bobs of fabrics.

  4. 4 Carri Friday, July 13, 2007 at 6:46 pm

    I have been reading through your site during my spare time over the last few days. I have to say that this is one my new favorite places to visit on the web. I have managed to put an end to a very long crafting slump and even start some things that I have been a little to intimidated to try. Just wanted to say thanks for the inspiration.

  5. 5 Cheryl Wednesday, August 1, 2007 at 4:31 am

    I love your skirt – great job!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


