Lots of Leaves

Once upon a time, I knit two ponchos for a friend. Her friend saw the little ponchos and said “Boy, I’d like some ponchos for my boys.” She asked if I would accept a willow chair she built in a workshop in exchange for my work. “I noticed your front porch is a little bare,” she said.

leaf_pillow_chair.jpg

I gladly accepted because our porch was very bare and the chair fit perfectly. After reclining on it a few times, I decided it needed a pillow; the design came to me in my dreams, sending me downstairs to sketch in the middle of the night.

leaf_pillow_sm.jpg

The first of the ponchos is just about finished. I’m using two strands of laceweight alpaca my mother-in-law bought from a peasant woman spinning in an alley in Potosi, Bolivia; bits of Bolivian debris are spun into the wool adding a touch of the authentic to this rustic yarn; anyone who knows Jen and her boys will appreciate how well this yarn will suit their rustic aesthetic.

cuinn_poncho.jpg

While knitting it one afternoon, my eye rested on the leaf pattern on my skirt. When I return to Seattle, I’ll create some brown felt leaf cutouts and embroider the edges to create an embellishment around the bottom of the poncho.

 cuinn_leaf.jpg

I’m not sure if the end result will end up looking as it does in my imagination, but the process will be fun along the way.

4 Responses to “Lots of Leaves”


  1. 1 Marysusan Monday, July 23, 2007 at 7:10 pm

    It is going to be gorgeous, I’m sure! What a great idea with the leaf embelishments….

  2. 2 jackie Tuesday, July 24, 2007 at 5:41 am

    Very nice pillow! It suits the chair perfectly!

  3. 3 ellen kelley Tuesday, July 24, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    Oh, I love how your story flows…starts out at one point and travels through to your creative ideas…I can’t really express it very well, but I did love following the thread of your thoughts. I think your creation will be wonderful. It’s fun and interesting to follow our threads of creation back to where they were born.

  4. 4 Jen Monday, July 30, 2007 at 7:27 am

    Oh, I am so looking forward to seeing the leaf poncho! You are such a good friend to spend your vacation time on this project. I’ll make sure to take the kids out into the woods while they’re wearing the ponchos so they can mix Seattle leaves in with the Bolivian biomass. P.S. The pillow works perfectly. I’m glad you have made such a happy home for the chair.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


