Worms For Sale

My children learned their first lessons in marketing and economics today. While working to turn our vermipost, my children noticed just how much the red wrigglers had reproduced while we were away. They scooped some out for a closer look and a little play. When Sophie was done, she suggested scattering them in the garden; my son remembered a story he heard about his great-uncle who sold nightcrawlers to fishermen when he was a boy forty years ago. “We should sell them,” he piped up, “to fishermen going to Green Lake”.

worms.jpg

Before long, they had scrounged some recycled yogurt containers from the kitchen, poked air holes in the lids and counted out their stock. They decided on prices, made signs and moved a table from the patio to the street.

worms_4_sale.jpg

Their first customer was our regular postal carrier. “Worms? Don’t you have lemonade? I don’t need any worms right now”. Two more cars stopped to ask about lemonade before we decided to provide what the market was demanding. We made bigger signs, and the kids took turns dancing around the table with their signs held high to attract attention. Sophie stayed at her table for 2 1/2 hours, bringing in $6.05 in lemonade sales; the worms have been relocated to a larger container for safekeeping.

At dinner, we had an extensive conversation about the endeavor. How much can you charge for homemade lemonade? Is it worth the higher material cost to make it from scratch? Should it be listed on the poster? Do cookies provide a good return on your investment? I charged 10% of their profit for the materials that went into today’s lemonade, plus my dishwashing service since we were using our own cups and they didn’t want to wash them. If they put the stand up again tomorrow, they are going to pay for the sugar and lemons out of today’s profit. Now, about those worms…

3 Responses to “Worms For Sale”


  1. 1 sooz Wednesday, August 15, 2007 at 5:53 am

    I have no comment on economics or worms or even lemonade, though I am impressed by your educational spirit.

    But in response to your question on my blog (sorry you didn’t leave an email for a more appropriate reply channel) – it’s a mix. I say less and get chastised less. I’m older and wiser and care less about telling other people off – I’ve learned enough to know I am right less often that I once thought. And in return most of the people I spend time with accept me better for who I am and care less about making me otherwise 🙂

  2. 2 Isabelle aka Tricotine Wednesday, August 15, 2007 at 2:50 pm

    What a great experience for your children! 🙂

    Now, I will have a lemonade, but worms… no thank you! LOL

  3. 3 ellen kelley Tuesday, August 21, 2007 at 9:51 am

    What fun. I should try to do something like that here with my grandchildren. I think they would love it and we certainly have plenty of room. Great memory maker!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


