Keeping Track

Visiting with Laurie and her children while we were on Keats, she mentioned a calendar her mother drew while babysitting Laurie’s children over a long weekend. Since time is such an abstract concept, especially for children who have not developed the perspective that schooling teaches, this calendar struck me as a brilliant idea.

marie_calendar.jpg

With one prominent idea illustrated for each day, it was easy for Laurie’s three year old son to visualize how much time would pass before his mother returned. Since she left on the ferry and would be returning on the ferry, they drew a boat for Thursday and Monday. In between, there was time for playing with shells, playing on the beach, and swimming.

molly_calendar1.jpg

With her five year old daughter’s help, Laurie drew a calendar for their next two weeks, which included returning home by ferry on Tuesday or Wednesday, laundry on Thursday, a road trip on Friday, playing with cousins on Saturday, cheering for Uncle Mark in the Ironman on Sunday, driving home and then a summer camp for four days.

laurie_calendar.jpg

For my son, who has a very fuzzy concept of time, this should help us organize our days once school starts since after-school activities mean different pick-up times and ways of getting home.

4 Responses to “Keeping Track”


  1. 1 Sarah Monday, September 3, 2007 at 3:32 am

    I’ve had calendars like this as well, in fact making one is on my agenda for today as I begin to figure out what we need to take to school every day.

    I also have had (and will make today) a sign with a list of things to do in the morning: brush teeth, make bed, get dressed, turn out light. It used to be all in pictures, now I can write it out.

  2. 2 grapeflavored Tuesday, September 4, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    Great idea, I remember making one of these when I was a kid. In first grade we drew pictures of “a day in the life” as well. I’ll file this away for when my son is a bit older.

  3. 3 Carrie Friday, September 14, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    I really should do that with my almost 3 year old. I haven’t yet because I keep meaning to make a quilted or felt one where we can stick on the various pictures on various days, but my lack of getting around to making the project just means no calendar! Crayons and paper exists for a reason 🙂

  4. 4 kristin Sunday, October 21, 2007 at 5:07 am

    YES!! brillant! i hope it’s worked out for you.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


