Best Fruitfly Trap Ever

The scourge of summer, in my books, is the measly fruit fly. Give me spiders, give me bats, give me mice, give me snakes; I can take ’em all, but I really, really, really can’t stand fruit flies.

Being out of my own kitchen for most of the summer helped me deal with my great intolerance, but Labor Day doesn’t mean anything to these guys; my kitchen has been buzzing this past week with the little pests.

fruitfly_trap.jpg

Perhaps I should do more complaining, because no sooner did I mention it out loud, than one of my friends rushed in with a recommendation for the best fruit fly trap ever. She testified that her kitchen was rid of all flies in just one day, so I had to try it.

trapped.jpg

Fill a small jar with cider vinegar and then cover it with plastic wrap. Poke a few small holes in the top and watch it work.

After twelve hours, I have six floaters, three trapped flies furiously circling the inside and none buzzing around my kitchen or perched on my fruit. Yipppeeee!

14 Responses to “Best Fruitfly Trap Ever”


  1. 1 chickenbetty Wednesday, September 5, 2007 at 6:10 pm

    yup. Beer and strangely enough, witch hazel work as well.But who would want to waste good beer on flies 🙂

  2. 2 Loren Wednesday, September 5, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    Red wine in my traps, works like a charm. I also learned last year that pouring a kettle full of boiling water down the drain is helpful, they seem to like to breed there

  3. 3 jackie Thursday, September 6, 2007 at 5:03 am

    A few years ago we had the same problem. We also had one of those vinegar shaker jars with the hole in the top that was full of soya sauce. It was quite a surprise for my daughter to put some soya sauce on her rice and see little black specks. At first we thought that it was just dirt on the rice, but after closer inspection, we found out that there were fruit flies in the soya sauce. I was shocked that they would find it an attractive scent and rather grossed out that there were so many of them.

  4. 4 Cheryl Thursday, September 6, 2007 at 9:57 am

    Wow, you’ve been busy!
    I’ve just been sick, ugh!
    Anyway, I love the socks and thanks so much for the fruit fly trap. I had traps that I got from a health food place. I loved them so much but they stopped carrying them. I like your idea much better.
    Great green socks and neat knitted necklace.
    Take good care!

  5. 5 Regina Thursday, September 6, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Wowza!!! What a great idea! I’ve never heard of doing any of these things to get rid of fruit flies! Beer, vinegar, withc hazel, wine? Who’da thunk!

  6. 6 Meg McElwee Friday, September 7, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    He he he … come here, you little buggers …

    Thanks for the tip, Leah!

  7. 7 denise Friday, September 14, 2007 at 8:00 am

    I’ll have to try the plastic wrap and see if that clears them even quicker!

    I seem to get a lot of fruit flies every time I bring home flats of berrys and boxes of fruit for jam/canning. I find that setting a little custard cup of cider vinegar with a drop of dishsoap out at night usually clears them by morning. (the dishsoap cuts the surface tension of the vinegar and seems to trap quicker)

    Oddly enough, it seems that as the dead fruit flies accumulate in the dish the remaining flies are even more attracted to the trap.

  8. 8 Wendy Monday, September 24, 2007 at 9:38 am

    Oh, thanks for the tip. I just set one out. I spent all weekend vacuuming up all the fruit flies that were living off the peaches that I didn’t quite get canned in time. I haven’t seen any of them lately, but I’m sure if there are any still lurking around, this’ll get em.

  9. 9 Lindsey Wednesday, September 8, 2010 at 3:21 pm

    i have 2 guinea pigs and a rabbit in my basement and the cages are covered in fruit flys so im deffinatly going to try this thanks!

  10. 10 David Friday, December 10, 2010 at 11:27 pm

    I own a restaurant and the fruit flys get really bad even though we clean really well. We have found that 80 proof Wild Turkey with a slice of orange and lemon work the best. We will get like 30 a night.

  11. 12 Heyhey Saturday, June 11, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    The fruit flies were barely interested in the apple vinegar but clustered (ugh) around some honey mead I had out so I’m using that tomorrow instead!

  12. 13 yowza Monday, July 11, 2011 at 7:30 am

    If you add a little soap it breaks the surface tension of the liquid and the flies will fall in and drown rather than just flying around (and possibly out of) your trap enjoying themselves!

  13. 14 Manda Tuesday, September 11, 2012 at 6:53 pm

    I bowl of Red Wine Vinegar with Dish soap mixed in. (the soap to stick em when they land) I had 14 dead in less than an hour and counting! AWESOME just cover it with saran wrap and poke holes in (not near the edges) big enough for them to easily fit through but not much bigger.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


