SpiderFelt Steps Out

Thanks to a little pushing and shoving from Marysusan, I decided to make the big step and put up my Etsy shop. Even though I don’t have my collateral in place, I’ve launched my new brand name: SpiderFelt. Imagine a spunky little spider who spins wool and wire into offbeat creations (inspiration and credit due to Jane Dyer, illustrator of Sophie’s Masterpiece).

lava_neck.jpgsea_glass_small.jpg

For this first offering, I’ve posted some knit wire pendants,

sea_feltbasket.jpg

a box made from flat felt embellished with Sea Silk,

flat_flower.jpg

a few felt pins,

abalone_turquoise.jpg

and a couple of necklaces.

pearl_crochet_heidi1.jpg

If you don’t see what you want, I’d be delighted to make something especially for you.

Since this blog is all about learning and sharing, I’m going to put myself out on a limb and say the header on my shop doesn’t look the way I want it to. Does anyone have recommendations for creating a crisp, clear header like ruby-crowned kinglette? I removed my name from the header because the pixelation was so gross I couldn’t stand to look at it. What software should I be using? I have Photoshop, but am more familiar with ImageReady. If you are game for a little tutorial, I’d be forever indebted. Are there any WordPress users with suggestions for creating a shop button on my sidebar? Hacking blog software is not where I prefer to spend my time and the FAQ have not provided me with any quick answers.

11 Responses to “SpiderFelt Steps Out”


  1. 1 carri Friday, September 14, 2007 at 4:39 am

    Oh, I’m so happy for you! Love the name and all it represents.

  2. 2 Laura Friday, September 14, 2007 at 5:56 am

    Congratulations!!! Good luck with it all. I’m sure someone will help you figure out the technical issues, but sadly…it isn’t me. I rely on
    step by step coaching for that stuff!

  3. 3 Jen Friday, September 14, 2007 at 9:06 am

    Woo-hoo! Congratulations on the new adventure — I predict much success and enjoyment on doing what you so obviously love.

  4. 4 marti Friday, September 14, 2007 at 11:05 am

    a heartfelt (no pun intended) good luck wish is being sent to you! way to go!

  5. 5 Linda Friday, September 14, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    your work is sensational and a huge inspiration to me!!! love it and happy to see you started am etsy shop!! congrats and I know you do well your work is exceptional and unique!! thanks for sharing!! Hugs Linda

  6. 6 sooz Saturday, September 15, 2007 at 6:32 am

    Hey thanks for the comment on my blog – sorry I don’t have an email for you so I’m leaving it here. Good luck with the shop!

  7. 7 Loren Saturday, September 15, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Right on Leah, it is wonderful to see you step out and share your work!

  8. 8 Marysusan Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 5:12 am

    Yipee!!! Oh you are going to have so much fun!

  9. 9 Marysusan Sunday, September 16, 2007 at 5:39 am

    Um…just gave you the big etsy forum shout out…but it was early sunday morning, so maybe my timing isn’t so great?

    http://www.etsy.com/forums_thread.php?thread_id=5233182

  10. 10 kristin Sunday, October 21, 2007 at 8:30 am

    congratulations on the new shop!! i know you will do very well. 🙂 i can see i’m going to need a wool felt bead nursing necklace in my near future…can i request a blue, green and purple one?

  11. 11 stephanie s Monday, December 3, 2007 at 4:42 pm

    leah, well this is certainly late, but if you are still interested in a header styled like mine i can help – i think… will of course have to remember what i did, but i have all the images in a file so i could easily figure it all out…. let me know.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


