Embracing Asymetry

There are times when asymetry can really challenge my sense of order. Then again, there are times when asymetry is the only thing that really looks right. When you are working with a piece of cord that is just a little too short and not enough beads of the same color, you have to just embrace it.

 felt_beadnecklace.jpg

I’m thrilled with this little necklace because it can be anything you want it to be. The little silver scroll can be placed anywhere, though leaving them low gives you a little more room to breathe.

felt_beadnecklace2.jpg

The beads can slide up or down the cord, but because they are felt they won’t go anywhere unless you tug. Once they are positioned, they will stay put until you decide to rearrange them, or some little fingers do it for you. Can you say ‘perfect nursing necklace’?

This one is going up in my etsy shop, but if you recall, I made a lot of felt beads this summer, so I’ll be making several versions of this necklace and one will definitely hang out with me.

5 Responses to “Embracing Asymetry”


  1. 1 Carrie Monday, September 17, 2007 at 5:01 am

    That is divine!

    Will the silver part move if tugged? Just thinking about how my little one pulled REALLY hard on my nursing necklaces.

  2. 2 Courtney Monday, September 17, 2007 at 5:55 am

    That’s really pretty. Might be my first felting project.

  3. 3 Nic Monday, September 17, 2007 at 6:21 am

    So cute! AND HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!

  4. 4 Cheryl Wednesday, September 19, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    Catching up once again…Congrats on the etsy store – I love the name! Have you gotten your header fixed because I don’t see the pixelation. I would be happy to help, just let me know. I’ll be on the graphics computer tomorrow.

    The necklaces are great. What a fantastic idea – the nursing necklace. The most I had with Z was a hand=knotted bracelet that I moved from arm to arm to help me remember which side had been nursed last.

    Several years ago I ran across a gal who knitted and made the most spectacular wire/beaded necklaces. She was selling them at some chi-chi boutique downtown for a fortune but would sell them to fellow mother’s day out gals for a song. When I get a chance I will email you some photos.

    Finally, thanks for sharing your scarf process. This type of project was on my long list of to-dos but got side-lined. I love the airiness which is especially appropriate for our mild winters. You have inspired me! Thanks!

  5. 5 kristin Sunday, October 21, 2007 at 8:32 am

    happy birthday? belated wishes to you xx


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


