Big Spiders

Spiders have been on my brain for a while now; it is no coincidence that I’ve named my new business SpiderFelt. As a first step to developing a logo, I started sketching in bed one night when my mind was too active to let me sleep, but when I was really beyond the time when my coordination was at its best. Predictably, my attempts at sketching a fetching little artsy spider were terrible, but I started thinking about creating a spider out of felt (brilliant, I tell you). It was almost like a little voice was speaking to me. What do you think I spotted out of the corner of my eye? A big spider creeping slowly down from the ceiling above my bed.

spider_computer.jpg

I took it as a good sign and crafted this baby the next day. Not anatomically correct, but still colorful enough to meet my needs. I’m still working on crocheting a web out of silver wire so she has somewhere to roost.

spider_cu.jpg

At least three nights ago, Owen noticed a big spider perched in the doorway of our basement. He asked Lance to trap it and bring it outside, but Lance declined on the premise that he had made a deal with the spider: I’ll let you live if you eat some more flies.

As I was relating this story to Erika on the phone tonight, he came back into view. Either he has invited friends inside, or he is making tracks around our basement because I keep seeing him over and over again. It is safe to say that Erika has an intense dislike of spiders. I had to capture this one on film just for her; the legs measure 3″ across.

spider_babies.jpg

I introduced him to SpiderFelt, but he seemed unimpressed. He is still sitting there, just behind me on the door to the furnace closet. What is the life expectancy of the average house spider?

6 Responses to “Big Spiders”


  1. 1 ellen kelley Friday, September 21, 2007 at 11:39 am

    I have no idea what the life span of a spider is, but I can attest to the fact that they sure like my house. Since I hardly ever see a dead one I would bet they live a long time…too long. I may be running the Heaven on Earth Rest Home and Retirement Center for spiders.

  2. 2 Laura Sunday, September 23, 2007 at 8:56 am

    Spiders love our place too…I always feel a little apologetic when someone new comes over and I have to tell them “yes, I know there’s a spider in the corner and no, I’m not going to kill it.” It freaks some people out, but most of my friends are OK with it. Animal Speak by Tim Andrews talks of how spiders symbolize creativity and balance. It makes perfect sense that you’d be seeing a lot lately!

  3. 3 melyndahuskey Friday, September 28, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    I hate to introduce a yucky note here, but in the Pacific Northwest, we need to keep our eyes open for aggressive house spiders (also known as hobo spiders). Their bites are quite painful and serious. I’m thinking your large spider-y friend might just be one of them–you might check the pictures at http://bugguide.net/node/view/31449

  4. 4 denise Sunday, September 30, 2007 at 9:50 am

    I don’t kill them but I do put them outside most of the time. We seem to have massive amounts of them here and I’m a tiny bit concerned about letting them get the upper hand. 😉

    I sometimes give them a pass if they’re out of the way but if they’re in the bedrooms — immediate eviction!

  5. 5 denise Sunday, September 30, 2007 at 9:51 am

    oops…
    I forgot to tell you how great your felted spider is! I much prefer the wooly kind.

  6. 6 Craftybernie Tuesday, October 2, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Life expectancy of a spider? Too long, in my daughters eyes! The little blighters freak her out something awful – they intimidate me too but mummy is brave enough to catch them and release them outside.

    Never in my life have I come across the huge spiders like we have in our house on the Isle of Man. They’re similar to your little friend, only the body is much rounder and fatter. When we lived in London the largest spider we saw was absolutely teeny. Maybe the flies are bigger on the Isle of Man???

    🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


