Silver Scrolls and Closures

The scroll is a shape that has always intrigued me. From the time I tried to draw my first treble clef for music theory class in the third grade, I’ve been enchanted with swirls.

scroll_3pieces.jpg

Which doesn’t mean that I find good swirls easy to draw. Many of my swirls collapse on themselves and I’m left trying how to fit the last bit of curl in the space remaining. They are often too cramped (top left), too short (middle), or strangely proportioned (right).

scroll_pink.jpg

Frustrations aside, when I started to work with crocheting wire, I knew that ordinary closures available at the bead store just wouldn’t work with the pieces I was creating, so I looked around for instructions on fabricating closures. Knitting With Wire by Nanci Wiseman had just the illustrations I needed.

scroll_detail.jpg

Next on my list of problems was a distinctive closure for my felt bead necklace that lay flat against the cord, kept the cord in place and could slide up and down without being sloppy.

scroll_felt_necklace.jpg

Ahh. Much better. Variations of this felt bead necklace are now up in my shop; the scroll is available for sale separately.

5 Responses to “Silver Scrolls and Closures”


  1. 1 jackie Monday, October 1, 2007 at 2:59 am

    Great idea! The closure on the felt necklace fits so well.

  2. 2 stashstudios Monday, October 1, 2007 at 10:17 am

    lovely and wonderful!
    isn’t the process of discovery a fantastic journey? esp, when you manage to accomplish the vision from your head.

    C

  3. 3 Linda Monday, October 1, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    what great closures and super idea for the felted necklace way to go looks great!! Hugs Linda

  4. 4 Laurie L. Monday, October 1, 2007 at 4:03 pm

    Yes, oh, yes! The closures and “clips” in scroll form fit the organic-ness of your products. Manufactured and pre-cast pieces from a store wouldn’t do your products justice.

    I wish I lived in the Seattle area…I would take a class from you. When you are at the point in your work that you expand knowledge through traveling and giving classes at other shops and other states, be sure to let us in blog-land know.

  5. 5 Alison Thursday, November 15, 2007 at 8:19 am

    as the proud new owner of some of these little beauties I can safely say they are fab – Alison


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


