Teaching, Felting, Selling

Since I started writing this blog nine months ago, I’ve tried to make it more about what I do and less about me. However, life has become so busy in the last month that the two have overlapped to the degree that I can’t make a distinction. I’m doing something I love as a business now, and not because I have a little spare time.

Last month, I opened my etsy shop, signed up for my first craft show and launched a series of felting workshops. I didn’t anticipate that all three ideas would be successful so soon, nor was I prepared for how it was going to turn my house upside down.

While I’m thrilled to be doing so much felting, sewing and teaching, several things have had to take a back seat. First to go was blogging, second was reading other blogs, third was the laundry, fourth was cooking for my family. I’m still documenting all the art that is happening around here, but I haven’t been able to carve out the time to sit and write.

seahorse_checkbook.jpg

This morning, my friends Linda and Rima came to learn about needle felting. I made a seahorse, which turned into a checkbook cover after everyone left; Rima did a beautiful illustration of three ladyslippers, and Linda experimented with texture by twisting the roving into spirals before applying it to her felt. Now that I sit down to write, I realize I forgot to take pictures of their projects which were both worth sharing.

Tonight I’m teaching a class to eight women at our community center. I’m full of excitement and nerves, partly because I know the more excited I become, the less coherent my instructions are. Speak slowly. Calm down. Take it one step at a time. There is so much I want to show and share; I hope I can convey some actual instruction instead of running around like a headless chicken.

In case you are wondering, the craft show was a dud; the booth cost more than I made in sales. I sold four items, and two were to people who knew me and came to the show just for me (thanks Carrie!). My aunt bought my checkbook cover right out of my hand, hence the new seashorse. The silver lining was that it forced me to finish a bunch of items which had been languishing around my house. A friend gave me super advice for improving my products, help me set up my booth, kept me company throughout the rainy afternoon, chatted up passersby who might have been tempted to just pass by, and boosted my flagging spirits; she is the BASF for crafters. Now I have a shop with new items, and many more to photograph and post (if you are interested in a felt bead necklace, I have three hanging from the curtain rod in my office waiting for pictures).

4 Responses to “Teaching, Felting, Selling”


  1. 1 ellen kelley Wednesday, October 10, 2007 at 5:50 pm

    It’s a hard balance, this life, isn’t it? Although I never did the things that you are doing, I do know that what I have done, do now and hope to always do, raises issues…balance, the dance of Life.
    Keep on keeping on what feels good to you and what is good for your family. I know that you will do that which is creative, positive and embracing for your family. I will miss you if you post less, but I will continue to rejoice, be inspired, and to check in on a space that I find so incredibly lovely, challenging and positive.
    (p.s. I loved the BASF..we don’t make it…)
    Best to you, e.

  2. 2 Stacy Wednesday, October 10, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Congrats on your shop and undertaking teaching classes! And congrags on finishing up so many projects for the rummage sale!

    I am always inspired to read your site — it is a lovely space to visit.

    xo- s

  3. 3 Alyssa Thursday, October 11, 2007 at 10:48 am

    I can relate so much! I just wanted to throw an idea out there – if there is a Waldorf school near you, they probably have a Holiday craft fair of some sort, and I think your stuff would be perfect for that crowd! Especially the felt boxes, I think. Check into it. We only do a handful of fairs each year, and 2 of them are Waldorf school holiday fairs, because we have such amazing sales there, all of the other ones feel like too much trouble. We have done the two in Wisconsin and Minneapolis for 4 years now, and can count on making $800-$1600 at each of them, even if our inventory varies. Just an idea…

    Good for you for making your boundries. I struggle all the time to figure out that balance myself… I will look forward to the days that you do post and add to your shop!

  4. 4 woodmosue Wednesday, October 17, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Congrats! I’ve seen some of your items browsing Etsy before, didn’t know it was “you” how cool!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


