Illustrator Credit

Credit is long overdue for the wonderful work by artist Geninne Zlatkis, creator of my spunky mascot, SpiderFelt.

leaf_mobile.jpg

I believe a post about this mobile first drew my attention to Geninne’s work. There is something so wonderful about the simplicity and liveliness in these colorful leaves.

botanical_garden.jpg

Geninne is a professional illustrator who sells prints of her work in her etsy shop. This print is now framed, sitting on my bureau, waiting to be hung. Her work is detailed, quirky, imaginative, playful and luscious. If I don’t read any other blogs during the day, I always visit Geninne just to see what she has drawn today.

In an effort to promote the work of talented artists who fill the pages of Etsy, I plan to regularly highlight purchases I have made there. The etsy administrators will soon be launching a marketing campaign to encourage people to ‘buy handmade, buy local’; this will be my contribution to the cause.

While I’m sure there are several other bloggers who do the same, the idea was brought to my attention through the site Sock Prøn who chronicles her purchases on EtsyFriday; while it is easy to say “I could make such and such’, or ‘That looks so simple’, the reality is that you haven’t made it and someone else has: Seize the moment and buy it. Bring something lovely into your home and sprinkle some money around. As an aside, my husband is convinced that etsy is kept afloat by the mutual admiration society that exists between artists; if we are buying each other’s goods, are we actually making any money? Good question, but I know talent when I see it, and I also know my own limitations, so when I see something well made, it is worth stepping up.

2 Responses to “Illustrator Credit”


  1. 1 Wendy Monday, October 22, 2007 at 6:06 am

    I was listening to a podcast by one of Etsy’s creators a couple of weeks ago and he said that the ratio of Etsy sellers to people that are only buyers is 1 to 4. And they’re working on increasing that ratio. So, hopefully it’s more than just mutual admiration.

    Also, this is a great idea to help spread the word.

  2. 2 Dawn Monday, October 22, 2007 at 8:13 am

    I know exactly what you mean. I had a really good day of sales last week, and I turned around the next morning and spent at least half of what I had earned on more stuff from Etsy. I can’t help it, I really just love all of the stuff that I can find on there, and I don’t even have to brave traffic to get it!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


