Bonus Envelopes

This last week has been slow in the shop, so I’m taking advantage of the breather to read some of the tips experienced Etsy sellers offer in the forums and watch some of the helpful how-to videos posted by staff in Etsy Labs.

One of the suggestion made by a staffer was to improve your customer’s experience by adding a treat with their purchase. It can be a colorful tag, a handmade thank you card, or embellished packaging.

My partner in domesticity dutifully sorted through the leaning tower of mail detritus threatening to overwhelm our kitchen this weekend, resulting in an equally large tower of recycling perched precariously on the filing cabinet next to my desk. The danger in asking anyone else to taking care of a task like this is that they will throw away things you were keeping for an unspecified future project; this is also the very reason to ask someone else to do it.

Another post was regarding the use of recycled materials, such as pages from a magazine or catalogue, in your packaging. I’m all over that! Look at that pile! I retrieved two great magazines from the recycling, and then proceeded to cull interesting ads from his oversized sports magazine – why do they make them so large? We won’t speculate too long on the connection between monster trucks, power tools, really large televisions and sports, but there is definitely a common denominator here.

envelope_supplies.jpg

Pull out my trusty self-healing mat, wooden folder, x-acto blade and envelope template and I’m off to work. An hour of cutting and folding later, I have a decent stack of handmade envelopes to use and share. Editor’s Note: the template was purchased at my local stamping store, Impress.

envelope-plans.jpg

A set of blueprints and a map of rural New Hampshire made the nicest envelopes. The paper is sturdy and light enough that I can write over the print.

glitter_envelope.jpg

Who can resist making an envelope out some glitter art? Is it safe to say that much of the art created by children is too sweet to throw away, but not distinctive enough to frame or file? I bought a pair of large accordion files for the household art last year, so we can file it all and decide at a later date whether it is worth keeping. But in the meantime, why not make an envelope out of the flashy pieces?

envelope1.jpg

These ads were perfect because they didn’t have a lot of text crowding the middle of the page.

envelope2.jpg

Most of the ads I chose have dark backgrounds, necessitating a label or a colorful address block affixed to the front. But I think they still have value and charm.

Next on my list of ways to personalize my shop: custom address blocks and tags made with a gocco. I’d love to hear reviews, pans or suggestions. Are they worth it?

4 Responses to “Bonus Envelopes”


  1. 1 Angela Tuesday, October 23, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    I love the envelopes and think they are great!

  2. 2 Dale Anne Tuesday, October 23, 2007 at 10:47 pm

    LOVE the envelopes – Where did you get the envelope template?

  3. 3 Cheryl Wednesday, October 24, 2007 at 8:22 am

    great tip, thanks for sharing
    I am in the process of setting up my dad to sell on etsy
    what an adventure 😉

  4. 4 Dawn Thursday, October 25, 2007 at 8:25 am

    Lovely envelopes! I made a collection of very small envelopes from CD covers, when we decided to move all of our CDs into binders, rather than carting 200+ CD cases across the country. Just about the right size for a business card and a really tiny card! 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


