NunoFelt Variations

The big news last week was a wholesale order for ten scarves destined for Italy. The buyer wanted three simple merino and seven nuno felted scarves. I hadn’t even negotiated the price before I was ordering silk and merino. Today it was play time.

fantasy_flowers.jpg

It started with 2 yards of silk georgette printed with a ‘Fantasy Flowers’ pattern. My first instinct was to lay strips across one side so the fabric would show through. Not bad, but probably not something I would wear.

fantasy_flowers2.jpg

My preference is to leave most of the fabric exposed with hints of wool for warmth and structure.

fantasy_flower_strips.jpg

Some little bits of fabric were left over after I trimmed the scarf, so I placed them on a single layer of the same blue merino. Now we have a felt scarf with a hint of silk.

seafoam_carnations.jpg

The second piece I ordered was a bold print called ‘Black and White Carnations’.

seafoam_carnations2.jpg

Without realizing the implications, I ordered a single yard, which left me with a piece too short and broad to wrap around several times, but perfect for either a neckerchief or a collar.

maroon_carnations.jpg

Somewhere in the middle of working on the seafoam scarf, I realized the perfect solution was to use wide strips to construct a scarf the length I wanted; the gap between the two vertical pieces is obvious in the picture on the right. This is by far my favorite scarf. Layered with maroon merino, the carnations take on a chocolate color. One layer of merino creates a supple yet warm scarf. There is more of this silk in my shopping cart already.

This Wednesday, November 7th, I’ll be teaching a NunoFelt workshop at my house from 10-12. Leave a comment if you would like to try your hand at this versatile technique.

8 Responses to “NunoFelt Variations”


  1. 1 Sarah Tuesday, November 6, 2007 at 3:01 am

    Those are beautiful! I like the bottom one best as well. Congrats on the order going to Italy.

  2. 2 jenclair Tuesday, November 6, 2007 at 9:26 am

    My favorite is the last one, too. Gorgeous!

  3. 3 Alyssa Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    I LOVE the last one… are you going to put some like that in your shop, too? What a great commission! You are an “international fiber artist” now!

  4. 4 ellen kelley Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 5:10 pm

    I just cannot believe the beauty you are creating. Congratulations and all of the good wishes that go with it! The colors are stunning…and to Italy, no less! Your creations are one of a kind, so unique and special. There is a lot out there, but these are truly original and speak wonders of their creator.

  5. 5 ellen kelley Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 5:12 pm

    p.s. I am not a blue girl…but I love the blue and red. Such a tango of color. WOW.

  6. 6 woodmouse Wednesday, November 7, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    I LOVE that last one! Congrats on the big order, how fun to send it off international!

  7. 7 Laura Friday, November 9, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    wow! It’s like you’ve taken flight! It seemed just a short time ago that you were just kind of pulling it together to start something and now it’s happening!!!!

  8. 8 Sarah K Friday, November 9, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    Love these scarves! Am in Greenlake, Seattle and if you ever do any more nuno workshops, I’d love to attend! Good luck with your order


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


