Floursack Cape

There is a song by Guy Clark that seems to be my anthem these days:

coiled.jpgEight years old with flour sack cape
Tied all around his neck
He climbed up on the garage
Figurin’ what the heck
He screwed his courage up so tight
The whole thing come unwound
He got a runnin’ start and bless his heart
He headed for the ground

He’s one of those who knows that life
Is just a leap of faith
Spread your arms and hold you breath
Always trust your cape

In early January, I’m going to rent a studio at Venue in Ballard, a neighborhood of Seattle full of shipyards, hip restaurants and designer boutiques. Venue is a unique gallery/studio space where artists rent space and exhibit their work. The studio artists work in the retail storefront and participate in decisions regarding new consignees; customers can watch the artists work, have a piece personalized and see the greater process at work. The store was recently profiled on City A Go-Go, broadcast on the Seattle Channel (Venue is the third segment in the piece).

An additional perk of renting space is the ability to use the store for workshops and classes after hours. The series of felting workshops which I’ve been teaching in my home have been a lot of fun, but are limited to daytime hours because they happen in my home. Soon, I’ll have a full complement of evening and weekend classes scheduled at Venue.

In the meantime, I’m consigning my current stock of felt at the boutique. This means I have to pull all of the one-of-a-kind items from my store because I can’t risk sales happening at both places at the same time. Currently, the items in my store are models I can recreate easily using colors I have in stock. The listings say items will take seven to ten days to complete, but if you need them sooner, I can accommodate a rush request.

I’m taking a big leap of faith, hoping for the best, and trusting my cape.

7 Responses to “Floursack Cape”


  1. 1 ellen kelley Saturday, December 8, 2007 at 3:53 pm

    Oh, good for you! It is a leap, a free flying adventure and you have more than a flour sack cape for a safe landing: talent galore, good spirit and a track record filled with all of the beauty you have created. I hope that you are proud of yourself. You deserve to be! What an auspicious beginning for a long road of creativity.

  2. 2 stashstudios Saturday, December 8, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    As you can imagine from some of our early musical adventures, I am also a fan of Guy Clark. I am so proud of you and I just know you will do great – best wishes on this venture.

    I just did a two week workshop out of my studio and by word of mouth, I am having numerous requests to do more. So it would seem that we are on a similar trajectory.

    Last but certainly not least, I had to tell you that my mailbox smelled wonderful today. But here is the funny part, it was dark by the time I got home and so I haven’t yet opened the soaps because I am hoping to photograph the packaging – which is very clever BTW!

    Ten million thanks!

  3. 3 Dawn Saturday, December 8, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    I’d definitely like to hear about the workshop schedule when you have that worked out. I went out and bought some roving today to felt soap, and, well, let’s just say that right now, it’s better left to the professionals… meaning not me. 🙂

  4. 4 jackie Sunday, December 9, 2007 at 5:45 am

    Wozers! What a wonderful opportunity for you! From all of the rave reviews that you have been getting, I know that you will do great! Your products are fun and imaginative.

  5. 5 fibrespace Sunday, December 9, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    oh i’m so jealous, there’s nothing like that near us. good luck, I’m sure you’ll do well, your work is fantastic!

  6. 6 Stacy Wednesday, December 12, 2007 at 7:30 pm

    Wow, Leah! Congratulations! What great news for you!!

  7. 7 Josiane Wednesday, December 19, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    Congrats on making this leap! It will certainly lead you to many great opportunities.
    I’m having trouble finding an appropriate (and affordable!) space here in Montreal to create the things I have in mind, so that’s one of the reasons we need to move. As you can guess, I’ll miss the city a lot… I’m really happy that you’ve been able to find the right place for you in Seattle!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


