Rub a Dub Dub; Six Kids and Some Felted Eggs

Monday afternoon: Tera, mother of three and veteran homeschool goddess sends me an e-mail asking whether I had plans for our monthly AP craftgroup meeting on Tuesday. Could we felt Easter eggs? Sure! I love it when other people come up with the ideas. Providing the materials is the easy part.

Monday evening: I share with Lance my checklist of things I need to do the next day. First on my list, before picking up all the teensy toys with small parts, is a stop at the drugstore to get some plastic eggs. After a moment’s hesitation, he said ‘I guess I don’t need to hold on to this surprise any longer’ and plunged head first into his closet, emerging a couple of minutes later with a box of styrofoam eggs he’d picked up on clearance in May 2007, intending to surprise me this year with a set of felted eggs. I gulped and gushed simultaneously, apologizing for all the times I’d complained about his habit of hording and stashing seemingly useless ephemera.

egg_box.jpg

Tuesday morning: clean, tidy and organize the house in preparation for curious children and watchful (though forgiving) parents. Bring wool, towels, styrofoam eggs, nylon stockings, liquid soap, squeeze bottles, ribbon, scissors and needles upstairs.

egg_mosaic2_sm.jpg

In the interest of time, I decided it was better to use solid forms for the eggs, rather than try to create an entirely wool egg. A couple mothers brought plastic eggs, which we wrapped with masking tape to give the wool some purchase; the rest of us used the colored styrofoam eggs.

We drafted small amounts of wool roving and then wrapped it around the eggs. It is challenging to get a round form evenly covered with drafted roving. The little hands needed help with drafting and wrapping their eggs to ensure there was enough wool and thorough coverage.

Once wrapped, we carefully stretched a nylon stocking to create a large enough opening for the egg, trying not to disturb the roving as we placed the egg at the toe. Once in place, we tied a knot as close as we could get it to the egg, then squirted hot water over the little package. Dipping our hands in liquid olive oil soap, we started to rub a dub dub.

egg_mosaic1_sm.jpg

This is where the fun began and the tedium set in. Lots of kids like to dip their hands in the soap and love the suds they create, but after 30 seconds of rubbing, they start to wonder how soon the egg will be done. Realistically, it takes five to ten minutes of rubbing before the process is completed. I made one egg as a demonstration, and finished four eggs begun by the children.

egg_mosaic3_sm.jpg

I found it more effective to remove the stocking after a minute or two of rubbing, once the wool was no longer slipping around on the egg so I could felt it on my hand, rolling around the shape, applying equal pressure to the entire surface. Both times I left my egg in the stocking, they grew little spikes on the top, which I cut off and then felted the cut edge.

The pink egg was my favorite. This mother was pulled away from her task repeatedly by her children, forgetting when she returned to it how long she had already spent rubbing, effectively felting it much longer than the rest of us. I’m always amazed at just how good felt looks when it is really worked for a long time (note to self: hang in there longer than you think necessary). Check out Carrie’s post for her description of the morning.

Tune in next week for the follow-up installment: felted bird nests with my daughter’s second grade class.

12 Responses to “Rub a Dub Dub; Six Kids and Some Felted Eggs”


  1. 1 Summer Friday, March 14, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    Looks like so much fun!

    What wrap is that in the photo, it’s so cute!

  2. 2 bluegooseglen Friday, March 14, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    The eggs look great and everyone looks as if they’re having loads of fun. Can’t wait to see the felted bird nests. All those years I taught second grade, I would have loved to have had a room mother like you!

    Glenda

  3. 3 jackie Saturday, March 15, 2008 at 8:46 am

    This is wonderful! What a great idea! It looks like everybody had a great time.

  4. 4 ellen kelley Saturday, March 15, 2008 at 8:56 am

    Oh, those eggs turned out so beautifully. I am sure that everyone had fun and feels proud of their accomplishments.
    Good times!

  5. 5 Laura Sunday, March 16, 2008 at 10:41 am

    It looks like such a fun day…the eggs turned out so well! They’re adorable…Hey, maybe if you had some nice good quality soap eggs you could felt them too!

  6. 6 katy Monday, March 17, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    what a GREAT project. My daughter would love that.

  7. 7 Josiane Wednesday, March 19, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    I’m amazed to see that you were able to take pictures in the middle of it all! Sounds like you had a lot on your hands already, but you apparently handled it all beautifully! It must have been a fun afternoon for everyone.

  8. 8 MaryAnn Kohl Wednesday, February 11, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Could you felt a rock? Would you need to cover the rock with masking tape first, or not? Do you think the wool would hold to the rock, or would tape be necessary? Thank you for answering my question.I would like to do this with kids…we have rocks that would be a good size, I think.
    Please write to: MaryAnn@brightring.com

  9. 9 Toni Wednesday, March 4, 2009 at 8:45 am

    okay ca I just use felt that you get at the craft store, and what is wool roving? sorry for the questions these ae so pretty and I know my kids would love this project.

    thanks for sharing this.

  10. 10 Dawn Wednesday, August 4, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    These eggs would be great attached to a wreath form to make an easter wreath! Can’t wait for spring so I can give it a go!


  1. 1 Creative Mom Cafe » Blog Archive » Creative Speedlinking Trackback on Saturday, March 15, 2008 at 4:48 am
  2. 2 Felted Wool Easter Eggs « As We Walk Trackback on Wednesday, March 4, 2009 at 5:00 am
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


