Six Word Memoirs

I was listening to one of my favorite programs recently, and heard an interview with the editors of Smith Magazine. They were promoting their new book “Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six-Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure”, the premise being that reducing our lives to six words encourages us to be realistic about who we are, and the choices we have made (my analysis – not theirs). It got me thinking, hard. How would I summarize my life? What would my six-word memoir look like? Here are some stabs, by no means my final answer:

fiber_lover.jpgIntellectual discovers life and art while mothering.

Loner forced into life by motherhood.

Introvert speared by love, motherhood, art.

Discovered life and art in motherhood.

Mother keeps together body and soul.

Crafter turned knitter, felter and spinner.

Fiber lover gets tangled everywhere.

The editors suggested buying a few copies of the book, and the next time you’re late for a dinner party, bring a copy of this book in lieu of a bottle of wine. You’ll save fifteen minutes and you’ll start a conversation that will open windows into souls.

The caption for this photo should be: Uncontrollable fiber addict spins during St. Patrick’s Day festivities in Vancouver; temperature 42 degrees.

4 Responses to “Six Word Memoirs”


  1. 1 yaake Thursday, March 27, 2008 at 3:36 pm

    Recently, there’ve been a lot of these 6-word memes running around the internet. Personally, I think that giving someone the choice to write their memoir in six words is kind of an oxymoron in itself. “Describe yourself in six words” fits much better but sounds like an eighth grade essay! ๐Ÿ˜€
    In my case, I would write: Misunderstood writer seeking good Indian cuisine! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. 2 Carrie Thursday, March 27, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    I saw a 6 word “birth story” the other day, but all I could come up with were 5 and 7 word versions. Same here. Do you think the 6 is important??

  3. 3 Josiane Thursday, March 27, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    That’s a very interesting concept, and you came up with great 6 words memoirs! It would be interesting to note them, and to repeat the exercise next year, or three years from now, to see how the six words you’d choose then would be different to the ones you chose just now…
    The picture is great, and I really like your caption!

  4. 4 Erika Carlson Thursday, April 3, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    I also heard about that book, it sounds both funny and insightful. The process of coming up with a 6 word biography of myself is intriguing, however, my sleep deprived state prevents me from bing very literate. Two off the cuff:

    Children’s love turns feminist into SAHM.

    Gymnast, turned fundraiser, turned mother: fulfilled.

    Erika


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


