Felt Leaf Mobile

There is something so enchanting and relaxing about a mobile. When I saw this picture on Flickr last year, making my own leaf mobile jumped onto my mental to-do list, but something about the engineering of the piece held me back.

leaf_mobile_mosaic_sm.jpg

In the end it wasn’t difficult at all, though creating the leaves took several hours of felting, stitching and cutting. I used a little free-motion embroidery to create the abstract leaf shapes, dipping in and out of each shape, letting the machine and my intuition guide the stitches. By Sunday night, my shoulders were very sore because my seat/machine proportions aren’t right for hours and hours of sewing, but I couldn’t stop looking at the colorful pile of leaves I’d amassed.

3 Responses to “Felt Leaf Mobile”


  1. 1 Carrie Friday, March 28, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    OH that is just sublime!! Wait, when is my baby due again? 🙂

  2. 2 Josiane Saturday, March 29, 2008 at 8:24 am

    Beautiful! The picture of the leaf pile is lovely, so colourful!


  1. 1 Felt Journal Cover v2.0 « HomeWork Trackback on Tuesday, April 22, 2008 at 12:21 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


