Handspun Squiggle Scarf

Hi this is Sophie, I wanted to blog for my mom today. Here is how to make a wet felted scarf with yarn laid in it:

squiggle1.jpg

We started with handpainted merino roving and handspun yarn that I spun with my mom.

squiggle2.jpg

First you draft some roving. Drafting is when you pull gently on the roving. Lay down a thin, uneven batt. Our batt was 72″x10″.

squiggle3.jpg

Now lay down some loosely spun yarn.

squiggle4.jpg

Now lay down another layer of roving over the yarn. Then lay down a nylon screen.

squiggle5.jpg

Squirt hot water on your batt .

squiggle6.jpg

Put melted olive oil soap on your hands. Rub the batt under the screen until wet and soapy all over, take off the screen .

squiggle7.jpg

Then roll the batt up in bubble wrap, then roll it up in a towel and roll some more .

squiggle8.jpg

Then unroll it, and check on it .

squiggle9.jpg

Now that it is completely felted, full it as shown above. Lay down a towel before fulling.  Fulling is when you throw your piece down from a high distance to finish the shrinkage . Our final piece was 47″x 7″.

squiggle_fin.jpg

Rinse out the soap and hang to dry.

YOU’RE DONE!

10 Responses to “Handspun Squiggle Scarf”


  1. 1 Donna Sunday, March 30, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Hello Sophie!

    Your tutorial is well-written and easy to understand–thank you. Your scarf turned out great, I love those shades of blue.

  2. 2 Carrie Sunday, March 30, 2008 at 6:48 pm

    Beautiful! Those are some of my favorite colors. I love the idea of combining handspun yarn with roving 🙂

  3. 3 Josiane Sunday, March 30, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    Hi Sophie! What a great use for your handspun yarn! The scarf is awesome!

  4. 4 fibrespace Monday, March 31, 2008 at 1:10 am

    fantastic tutorial, well done, the scarf looks lovely.

  5. 5 red2white Monday, March 31, 2008 at 1:17 am

    Well done, Sophie! Very good tutorial and the scarf is perfect! Monika

  6. 6 Mary Jo Tuesday, April 1, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Sophie, I am very impressed. Congratulations from Potato.

  7. 7 Mariana Wednesday, April 2, 2008 at 4:58 am

    I ve done something like this before and I find the results always so amazing. I ve done some pieces which now hang in my living room. Love them!

    Love the colors you worked with!

  8. 8 Leigh Wednesday, April 2, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Excellent tutorial, Sophie! Lovely colors, lovely yarn, and lovely scarf. Well done!

  9. 9 handmade3777 Wednesday, April 2, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Hi Sophie. I’m really interested in learning felting. Thanks for your lovely pics and clear instructions.

  10. 10 kneek Sunday, April 13, 2008 at 10:28 am

    thanks for the comments I agree I also did all the photographing.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


