Handspun Stripe Sweater

Nothing thrills me like learning a new skill, like spinning for example. Spending the weekend at Madrona cozy with my drop spindle, falling deeper and deeper in love with the process and the yarn I was creating, some friends overheard me mutter: ‘I’m so over knitting’. Famous last words. What I didn’t realize at the time was that at some point, the spinner feels compelled to do something with the lovely yarn they have spun. It is pretty to admire on the mantle, but it is even nicer wrapped around the body.

The wrist warmers were a great way to see the fiber as knit fabric, but didn’t really satisfy my urge to see just how far my yarn would go. After browsing Ravelry a bit and trolling through my existing stash, I decided a striped cardigan would be the safest bet, as I could just substitute another color if I ran out. I pulled out six hanks of Bartlett Yarns Fisherman 3-ply and turned to the Random Stripe Generator to program the color sequence.

stripe_maker.jpg

Even if you don’t plan to knit, crochet, felt, collage or paint, this is a fun little tool. Don’t like the colors? Just refresh and you’ll get a new palette.

Pure and Simple Cardigan

My criteria in pattern selection was something easy so I could still socialize at the same time. I settled on the world’s simplest pattern series: Knitting Pure and Simple; this is the Neckdown Jacket (201). When I declared my love affair with knitting over, I think I was really saying I was done torturing myself with the never-ending race to master progressively more complicated pieces. Working on a simple piece does not qualify as back-sliding, in the same way as ditching my running routine, or swim practice. Incidentally, we’ve just started biking to school (which means four rides for me with the extra legs home). It is exciting to be out in the world as a family, each person motoring with their own steam.

5 Responses to “Handspun Stripe Sweater”


  1. 1 Josiane Wednesday, April 9, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    No garment knit out of your handspun (even if it’s only partially) will ever be ordinary, even if it is the simplest of sweaters!

  2. 2 kristin Thursday, April 10, 2008 at 6:27 am

    your post always feed my imagination…is it any wonder i haver 30 (yes, thirty!!) of your posts saved on my blogline feeds?

    i love how you used the random stripe generator…such a wonderful selection of colors

    and hooray for the bikes!! one last snowstorm here (hopefully) and we’ll be greasing our chains.

  3. 3 Carrie Thursday, April 10, 2008 at 9:48 am

    That must be so satisfying! I definitely go through phases where I don’t want to knit but want to create other things. It’s all good šŸ™‚

  4. 4 jackie Monday, April 14, 2008 at 3:07 am

    Nice job! I have yet to knit anything with my hand spun. Well, I did start that lace shawl, but it doesn’t seem to be calling to me. I have woven lots though. Did you get a wheel or did you do all of your spinning on the drop spindle?


  1. 1 Bartlett Cardigan Complete « HomeWork Trackback on Wednesday, November 19, 2008 at 11:22 am
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


