Fishy Sweater

My new favorite book: Warm Fuzzies by Betz White. I loved my library copy so much, I bought my own from her etsy shop.

This ranks at the top of my list for felting books, and maybe at the top for all craft books. Great ideas. Clear instructions. After reading it cover to cover, I immediately raced downstairs to start sewing.

Luckily, I have a decent stash of recycled felt, so I could get started right away. However, if you find yourself without any source of holey sweaters, or the local thrift store has been pillaged by faster crafters, try LassotheMoon’s etsy shop where she has listings for wool sweater scraps. Betz White also offers similar scrap bags, but her recent popularity means they are snapped up pretty quickly.

This fish was inspired by her bird ornament pattern. While I created my own shape, I followed her directions for creating the fins, which have a piece of fusible interfacing ironed between the two layers of felt to act as a stiffener.  Fashioning the eyes took a couple of tries, and some searching in google images for inspiration; in the end, I needlefelted on a piece of blue felt and then sewed the eye patch to the body.

5 Responses to “Fishy Sweater”


  1. 1 Josiane Monday, April 14, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Your fish has a lot of personality! Great job!

  2. 2 Carrie Monday, April 14, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    Great fish! I like the book a lot too, it’s very inspirational. I have half a mind to make a bunch of those birds and attach them to holiday gifts as decorations or something like that 🙂

  3. 3 Carrie Monday, April 14, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Great fish! I like the book a lot too, it’s very inspirational. I have half a mind to make a bunch of those birds and attach them to holiday gifts as decorations or something like that 🙂

    • 4 Resweater Saturday, May 9, 2009 at 6:51 pm

      Resweater is also a pretty cool place to find wool sweaters for upcycling 😉

      I can’t find a “contact me” to click on, so I hope you read your comments… can I feature some of your needle felted recycled wool items on my blog? I do weekly themes, and this week’s theme is needle felted recycled wool.
      Thanks!
      Kris 🙂


  1. 1 Felt Journal Cover « HomeWork Trackback on Monday, April 21, 2008 at 12:38 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


