Felt Journal Cover

A student recently asked if I had ever made a felt journal cover. Though I’ve seen several versions in various felt books, I’d never tried one. When I picked up Warm Fuzzies last week and saw the journal project, I knew the time had come to make one for myself.

This illustration by Jane Dyer in Sophie’s Masterpiece was the inspiration for the design needlefelted on the cover. After the design was finished, I threw the flat felt into the wash with some sweaters I was fulling.

The journal is lined with a piece of woven wool fabric upcycled from a shirt picked up at a clothing swap. The journal slides into two large buttonholes on either side of the spine.

The next time I make this cover, I’ll modify the lining as it bunches a little when the cover is closed. I love the way this seller on etsy finished the inside and created the cover pocket. Unfortunately, I didn’t do any market research before beginning my project, so this first iteration is truly my own as I’m not really sure how Betz finished hers (my library copy of Warm Fuzzies has been returned, and my purchased copy has not arrived in the mail).

The journal cover is listed in my etsy shop with a blank spiral-bound journal I bought at an art store. However, I have big plans to make my own journals using recycled hardcover children’s books and signatures sewn by hand. We’ll see. There are other projects with priority in the crafty queue, but it is on my mental list and all the materials have been purchased. Perhaps by putting it on record in my blog, I’ll be motivated to make them sooner than later.

Incidentally, Sophie’s Masterpiece has been one of my favorite books since my daughter Sophie received it as a birthday present in her first year (thank you Aunt Michelle!). I still have a hard time reading the whole thing without crying. The character Sophie was the inspiration behind my business name and the spider I asked Geninne to draw for my mascot. There was something about the spunky spider wearing mismatched tights that captured my imagination.

5 Responses to “Felt Journal Cover”


  1. 1 Josiane Monday, April 21, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    I like the design you needlefelted on the cover: it is both simple and elegant. The illustration that inspired you is beautiful – that really looks like a great book!

  2. 2 sarah Monday, April 21, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I love Sophie’s Masterpiece! The journal cover is also great.

  3. 3 Laura Monday, April 21, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I always like the colors you choose…

  4. 4 chickenbetty Monday, April 21, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    ye gads,
    I used to do the storytimes at our local B&N and I chose Sophie’s Masterpiece because I’d thumbed through it, loved the illustrations and I have a thing for spiders, I tried to include a spider story once each month. I was all excited I had a craft all ready. I had baught some cheap lace fabric and cut it into squares and the kids were going to decorate the edges with beads and sparkles, special “baby doll” blankets. The thing is, I’d never read the book through. I had 25 kids and their assorted parents and guardians sitting there completely engaged and I just couldn’t finish reading the story.
    “Mommy. Why is the story lady crying?”
    Half the mothers had tears in their eyes before I’d mastered myself enough to finish the book and then we spent a few minutes talking about why I’d been so emotional, about how some stories can hug your heart – that from one of the quicker thinking Moms – and it just makes you so happy for a moment that you can’t help but cry.
    I have a copy here for my girls but I haven’t been brave enough to read it to them again, they were there that night, but someday I will.
    I love how much the story has inspired you.

  5. 5 pamela Sunday, October 11, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    I just recently got into felting and I found you when I was scanning the internet for ideas. BTW the journal cover idea is super cute!! I then found your Etsy account and came across your felt covered soaps… I was hoping you would be able to tell me how you do that.

    Thank you!!!!!!!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


