Felt Journal Cover v2.0

Here’s the second version of my felt journal cover with a modified lining:

Instead of cutting a large buttonhole for the cover, I sewed a second layer of fabric over the lining to create a pocket. This does a better job of lying flat when closed and looks more finished than my previous method.

I hesitated to leave the edges of the flat felt wavy, but one of my students encouraged me, describing the edges as organic. My husband thinks they look ‘girly’. I think they lend the piece authenticity; there is no way this cover was cut out of wool felt bought by the roll at the fabric store. I’m particularly enamored with the quilted texture of the felt after I applied the machine stitching. This rough leaf motif was used to create hundreds of little leaves for my mobile.

This cover is now available in my etsy shop.

5 Responses to “Felt Journal Cover v2.0”


  1. 1 Josiane Tuesday, April 22, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    It’s great! I love that shade of yellow, and the stitching adds a nice touch!

  2. 2 Marian Tuesday, April 22, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Beautiful! and practical!
    Lovely shade of yellow.

  3. 3 sarah Wednesday, April 23, 2008 at 2:26 am

    I like the quilted effect and wish I had a sewing machine that could do it.

  4. 5 Lorena Friday, April 25, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Saw your pictures at flickr, and the felt stuff you show there is fantastic. Still, I have a question: can felt clothes be washed? How? Seem very fragile, or at least not washable in simple terms.
    Greetings from Argentina!


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


