Refashioning Corduroy

Sophie and I attended a fun event called Swap-o-Rama-Rama as part of GreenFest at the Washington Trade and Convention Center. Piles and piles of clothes were amassed for the sole purpose of refashioning discarded items into something new. A sewing machine dealer in Bellingham brought six machines, two sergers and an overlock, as well as a needlefelting machine.

The first day, I was signed up as a volunteer, but had so much fun, I brought the whole family back for more sewing. We created our own pile of clothes with appealing fabrics or design features. Before long, Sophie and I decided to tear apart an extra-large women’s corduroy jumper with large front pockets.

Sophie has played with my mother’s hand-me down Kenmore machine enough that she knew was able to work on her own piece independently while I alternated between helping my neighbors and experimenting with the serger. There were also two large embroidery machines hooked up to tablets. I encouraged Sophie to ask for a design early in the afternoon before the masses noticed the spiffy machines. She selected the font, color and flower embellishment on the back of her bag.

I decided to take advantage of the free screenprinting offered by Scott of Mothpress. He patiently explained the silkscreen process over and over to anyone who wandered by, and embellished items with several original designs.

There was so much going on that I was unable to finish more than my single bag, but I took away a nice stash of fabrics and a perfect project bag for my to-go knitting project ‘du jour’.

6 Responses to “Refashioning Corduroy”


  1. 1 Annie Sunday, May 18, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    This sounds like so much fun! Thanks for sharing about the event with us. I’d love to see something like this happen in my area.

  2. 2 Sue Krekorian Monday, May 19, 2008 at 1:51 am

    Brilliant – in every way!

  3. 3 goffcouture Monday, May 19, 2008 at 4:13 am

    What a great event! Sophie did a lovely job on her bag too; she must be so proud of it.

  4. 4 Kayce Monday, May 19, 2008 at 8:35 am

    I was wondering how that event was! I’m glad to hear you had a good time! I’m so into recycling clothing right now… I’m sad that I missed it!

  5. 5 Josiane Monday, May 19, 2008 at 9:15 am

    That sounds like an awesome event! Sophie’s bag is great!

  6. 6 katy Monday, May 19, 2008 at 1:50 pm

    oooo, i must go next time. i’ve never heard of it! sounds wonderful. how is sweet sophie?


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Cat and Erin

DSC_0873

DSC_0871

More Photos

Categories


