Felt Sushi Pincushions

Enough people commented on the shame of hiding the colorful parts of the pincushion on the bottom, that I worked to alter the design.

I started with a small snake of felt, needled it a little to hold the edges together, then added successive layers, needling a little as I went along. With each layer, I varied the colors along the length, which accounts for the variations between each pincushion. When it was large enough to draw snide remarks from my sidekick on the sofa, I put it aside.

The next day I wetfelted it as best I could, an unwieldy process considering the size of the roll. Next came rinsing and then slicing. Finally, each piece was finished off with ten minutes of needling to trap the fibers and firm up each individual piece.

These are now listed in my etsy shop, either with or without felting needles.

5 Responses to “Felt Sushi Pincushions”


  1. 1 sarah Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 2:28 am

    I like them! I have had no time for felting lately. I’m missing it!

  2. 2 Stash Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 9:04 am

    I have had one very similar to this for many years and it is my favorite cushion. Very cheerful – fun and practical. I was told that the wool is good for your pins and needles. Keeps them lubricated for use and protected from rust. I’ve never done any research to see if that is indeed true.

  3. 3 Donna Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 9:26 am

    Those are lovely! I do rather like the geode ones just a little better just because they are like real geodes, just look like something ordinary until you pick them up and turn them over.

  4. 4 Josiane Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 6:36 am

    I really like it when some colours wrinkle inside the roll, it makes for very pretty motifs! You’ve got a lovely batch of pincushions there, and I like that while they are all clearly related to each other, no two are exactly alike!

  5. 5 lance Wednesday, May 21, 2008 at 10:07 am

    Snide remark from your sidekick on the sofa? Is that what I’ve been reduced to? I’m crushed.


Comments are currently closed.



Flickr Photos

Categories


